I was reading a chapter of this great new book today… “Called”… by Kary Oberbrunner. It is all about what living for God really means. It is about what being a disciple, a follower of Christ, really looks like when we live it in our lives.

All too often, we live with the mindset that being a Christian means keeping our mouth shut and just associating with the people who go to church and live “good” lives. As Kary puts it in his book,

“In my experience, the extent of discipleship I’ve been presented with goes something like this:

1. Accept Jesus and ask Him into your heart.

2. Don’t do bad things now.

3. Withdraw from culture.

4. Hang out with Christians.

5. Go to church.

6. Read your Bible and pray.

7. Be happy that you are saved and not going to hell.

8. Tell other people about how happy they can be if they follow those seven steps.”

We’ve been presented with this picture of “discipleship” because it is the comfortable way. Nobody really likes to be uncomfortable, and if we stick to these steps, then we’re pretty safe. At least in our eyes. Kary points out, however, that this is a really lame life, far from the abundant life Jesus promised us in John 10:10. The Amplified Bible says it like this: “I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).”

Kary asks the question,

“What about the Jesus who says something like this?

1. I want your whole life—everything—including your heart, soul, mind, and strength.

2. I want to form myself in you.

3. I want to transform you and then have you transform culture.

4. I want you to be in the world as I was.

5. I want you to be the church, the incarnation of me.

6. I want you to embody the Word to others.

7. I am giving you abundant life now and will do so throughout eternity.

8. Be my hands and feet in this world and see people as people, not projects to convert.”

He makes the statement that people don’t reject Jesus because He asks to much, but rather because the Jesus we present to them asks too little. We have watered down our calling from God and made it so unappealing to the world. It is past time to stop misrepresenting God and what following Him really means and begin to truly make disciples. We need to really live and go out and make disciples, as we have been called to do. This is promising to be an amazing book. I love reading stuff that makes me think and challenges me to consider the way I go about my life.

Check out Kary’s website and also Amazon.com for his new book!

