“yesterday is a wrinkle on your forehead
yesterday is a promise that you’ve broken
don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes
this is your life and today is all you’ve got now
and today is all you’ll ever have
don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes

this is your life
are you who you want to be
this is your life
are you who you want to be
this is your life
is it everything you’ve dreamed it would be
when the world was younger
and you had everything to lose

don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes

yesterday is a kid in the corner
yesterday is dead and over

this is your life
are you who you want to be
this is your life
are you who you want to be
this is your life
is it everything you’ve dreamed it would be
when the world was younger
and you had everything to lose
don’t close your eyes
don’t close your eyes…”

~ “this is your life”.. by switchfoot

I guess the fact that graduation is tonight has made me really contemplative lately. It’s caused me to stop and consider so much… This song by Switchfoot seems to fit, and graduation and then end of my job at school have been all I could think about every time I have heard this song over the past few weeks.

Yesterday’s gone. We’re not promised tomorrow. Today — right now — is really all we have. I have to make the most of it; I cannot close my eyes and just let today pass me by.

So I might not like everything that has gone on in the past.. and other things I might not want to leave behind me.. but yesterday is “dead and over”… Living in the past only takes away from seeing the blessings God has for me now.

Looking back over my life thus far.. seeing where I’ve been, what God has brought me through, makes me think about my dreams. I see my life now and have to ask myself the questions posed in the words of this song… am I who I want to be? More importantly, am I who God wants me to be? Have I followed Him in every way that I could? I know I haven’t. This is my life.. am I who I want to be? Who is that? I want to be the woman God has made me to be.. but is that who I really am? How often do I not even think about it?

This is my life.. is it everything I dreamed that it would be? Remember when the world was younger? Remember how we had no more to worry about than how we were going to fit all the different things we wanted to play into one day? Remember when we had everything to lose? Is my life what I dreamed of in those days?

Honestly, I don’t think it is.

I think life is never just exactly how we dream it is going to be.

But I don’t think that is a bad thing. I think God has plans for us that are so much better than anything we could ever dream up, even as a child. He has dreams for us that are better than what we have planned out for our lives.

 “‘For I know the thoughts and plans that I have for you,’ says the Lord, ‘thoughts and plans for welfare and peace and not for evil, to give you hope in your final outcome. Then you will call upon me, and you will come and pray to Me, and I will hear and heed you. Then you will seek Me, inquire for, and require Me [as a vital necessity] and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.'” (Jeremiah 29:11-13) I love the way this is worded in the Amplified Bible in particular. When we learn and realize that we require God as a vital necessity, rather than an accessory, we begin to find the life He has for us.

May my life reflect my need for God… that He is my vital necessity… that I am nothing apart from Him. This is how my life needs to be defined. This is who I really need and want to be.

