A life lived in the past or in the future is a life wasted.

So said the speaker, Rachelle Downing, at graduation last night. I have to agree with her.

This young lady was an amazing speaker, and I so enjoyed her talk. I found her very encouraging and inspiring to listen to as she spoke, and I think I found her easy to relate to partially because she is very involved in her church, as I also am.

She spoke on much the same topic that I was writing on yesterday… how we cannot live in the past or in the future. We have to live in the here and now, because the present is really all we have. We might not be here tomorrow. She encouraged the graduates and the rest of the audience to live with a heart full of love, which makes a difference in the way we react and interact with others, readily and quickly admit our mistakes and learn to laugh about them, and live for today. She talked about how we need to live wholeheartedly, press on toward the goals we have, and how joy and love and a positive attitude make all the difference in our outlook on life and the way we live.

The ceremony itself was great, and it went by pretty quickly. I saw a ton of friends, and my family was there. We stayed after the ceremony for the president’s reception and got to talk with some of my dear friends from work. Our supervisor was there and made sure to seek us out. It was a great evening, even if it was somewhat depressing, having this knowledge that it was the end looming over it all.

But… although it was the end of this chapter of my life, I know God has something great coming up. I cannot live in the past, wishing to have it back. It’s gone. Sure, I can look back on my memories and pictures and enjoy all of that, but I cannot dwell there. Because that truly would be a wasted life. It would be wasting the time that God has blessed me with in the present. I can hold onto my friends, and I intend to. But I have to move on from this chapter, as much as it might depress me in a way.

God has blessed me so much with my family, my friends, my church, my school… I know He has plans for me.. something amazing.. I am so looking forward to it. I am so glad to be able to be a part of what He is doing, as I live here in the present. To live in the future or the past would really be to waste what I have been given, because my heart would not be in it. I want to put my entire heart into whatever I do. I want to live with a passion. I am choosing to make the most of the life God has given me, of every breath, living life to the fullest.

“[Jesus] came that [we] may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).” ~ John 10:10b (Amplified Bible)

