“they say i’m too young to really understand
they say i’m too old to be where i am
they say just fit in, you’ll be just fine
but i can’t buy the lie

the voices of the crowd always try to keep me down
but i’ve had enough and now i’m stepping out

unafraid
’cause i know who You are
unafraid
staring life in the face
’cause i know who i am is who You made
so here i stand
unafraid

You say i’m Your own, an orphan found
You say i am home, those lies are lonely now
You’re proud of me, and i am safe
and my fears begin to fade
Your voice is drowning everybody out

i’m gonna live my life unashamed
living my life untamed
for the sake of Your Name
i’m living my life, i’m living my life…”

~ “unafraid”… by joy williams

Life is changing. It is so true that time speeds past me… Today will soon be gone.

It is so easy to hear the voices of others, to hear them telling me what I should be doing with my life. People are so eager to tell me what I need to be doing, where I need to be going. And I do appreciate the thoughts and especially the prayers of others, so I don’t want to sound as though I don’t. It’s easy, though, when so many are giving their opinions and the way they see it, to live my life with the wrong goals in mind. It makes it all too easy to live for the dreams of others. I don’t want to live for others’ dreams for me though. I want to live the dreams God has given me, because I know that He’s given them to me for a reason.

God has specific things that He wants to accomplish with me. I love to see the ways He’s worked in my life in the past, is currently working in me, and what He will do in the future. Some of His plans might overlap with the plans others have for my life… but I’m sure not all of them do.

It can be scary to have tons of things in life changing all at once. But as Joy says in this song, “[I’m] unafraid, ’cause I know who You are…” I’m not afraid to live my life, because I know that God is exactly who He says, and He has everything taken care of and in His control. Nothing can happen without His allowing it to happen. It doesn’t mean that He wants “bad” things to happen, but He will let me go through hard times in order to grow me and strengthen my faith in Him and my love for Him. This is something I’ve learned from experience.

I want to make the most of my life, living it to overflowing for Him. I want to stare life in the face, living unashamed and untamed, like the words of this song mention. A life lived in the past or in the future is a life wasted. So is a life lived in fear. I choose not to live my life so that when I come to the end I will look back and wonder “what would have happened if…” I am choosing to take risks and live unafraid. Not taking stupid risks, but just really living my life. When I’m presented with an opportunity and there is no real reason why I shouldn’t do whatever it is — biblical, etc. — then I am going to go for it.

Florence Nightengale said, “Live your life while you have it. Life is a splendid gift; there is nothing small about it.” Take a look around you. I love to see all that God has blessed me with… it frustrates me when I talk with people who are constantly complaining; it is as though they think they have to find something to complain about. I would rather find something to be glad about. Like Pollyanna. There is some good in everything; we just have to look for the blessing in it. When we go through life complaining about and fearing every bend in the road, we miss the blessing and fun of it all.

“So then, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you may do, do all for the honor and glory of God.” (1 Corinthians 10:31, the Amplified Bible) I am choosing to live my life to honor and glorify God in all things. I know I don’t always please Him, but when I am living my life for His glory and seeking to live for Him, I know that even my mistakes are going to be used to glorify Him eventually. He will use it all for good. (Romans 8:28)

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” ~ Helen Keller

You know… if somebody with as many limitations as Helen Keller could say that and live it out, I don’t think I could ever come up with any excuse as to why I should not take risks and live life unafraid. I want my life to be full and abundant like the life that Jesus came to give me, (John 10:10) and I want to live it all for Him.

So I don’t know what the next step is… but trusting God is an adventure.. a daring adventure. I love it.

