“i can count a million times
people asking me how i
can praise You with all that i’ve gone through

the question just amazes me —
can circumstances possibly
change who i forever am in You

maybe since my life was changed
long before these rainy days
it’s never really ever crossed my mind
to turn my back on you oh Lord
my only shelter from the storms
but instead i draw closer through these times
so i pray

bring me joy, bring me peace
bring the chance to be free
bring me anything that brings You glory
and i know there’ll be days
when this life brings me pain
but if that’s what it takes to praise You
Jesus bring the rain

i am Yours regardless of
the dark clouds that may loom above
because You are much greater than my pain

You who made a way for me
by suffering Your destiny
so tell me what’s a little rain
so i pray..

holy, holy, holy
is the Lord God Almighty…”

~ “bring the rain”.. by mercy me

I think that unbelievers question how we can trust God through the hard times because they have nowhere to turn when things get rough. They feel like they are all alone.. and I can only imagine what that would be like.

It’s natural for us as humans to want to blame God for the valleys and shadows we are walking through when hard times come. It’s natural, but it’s not God’s way. He wants us to trust Him and just wait and see what He has coming up around the bend in the road. He wants us to pour out our hearts to Him, to pray to Him. In the good times as well as the hard ones.

“Trust in, lean on, rely on, and have confidence in Him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts before Him. God is a refuge for us (a fortress and a high tower). Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!” (Psalm 62:8, Amplified Bible)

I’ve long loved this verse… Pouring out my heart to God is something that has become so dear to me over the past seven years or so. He has taught me so much through it.. about contentment and joy, about worshiping Him in spirit and in truth, and about trusting God and really being in love with Him.

It is so crazy to me to think that so many people just want to be friends with God when the road is easy. That is not real friendship. He would never leave us.. why should I abandon Him if things don’t go my way? Circumstances could never change who I forever am in Him. He deserves my praise no matter what kind of dark clouds are looming over me.

The dark clouds used to scare me more than they do now. Not to say that I am glad when the storms come, but God has brought such a peace to my heart and given me an incredible contentment in Him. These days the hard times tend to bring me closer to God, and I cling tighter to Him.

So last night one of my cousins in Florida died. It’s hard… But he’s with Jesus now. Had he lived, he could not have played with his grandchildren anymore, getting down on the floor or running around with them. My family and I had the opportunity to go down to Florida in January, and we were able to spend a lot of time with this cousin, his wife, and their kids and grandkids. It doesn’t make me glad that he died.. but I know God has a plan. The dark clouds are not forever. We just have to trust God and keep on clinging to Him.

I praise Him anyway.

The hard times are not what makes God smile, but it is the way we react in the midst of them that makes Him smile… It is when the hard times come and yet we choose to praise God anyway. When we choose to trust Him and believe that He has a reason and a plan.

If that’s what it takes to praise Him right now, then Jesus, bring the rain. It takes a lot of courage to say that and truly mean it. A lot of trust and faith. A lot of contentment. He will grow us even more through it though. When I find my strength in Him, He blesses that and grows my faith even more

Bring me anything that brings You glory..

May this song be my prayer always. He is holy.

