“nowhere to live, nowhere to fall
he used to have money, but he’s wasted it all
his face is a photograph burned in my mind
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

he sleeps under stars, that’s all he can afford
his blankets and an old coat he’s had since the war
he stands on the corner of carter and vine
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

he may be a drifter, he’s grown old and gray
what if he’s Jesus and i walk away?
i say i’m the body and drink of the wine
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

she’s twenty-nine but she feels forty-eight
she can’t raise three kids on minimum wage
she’s cryin’ in back of the welfare line
but i pretend not to see her for the twenty-first time

she may be a stranger tryin’ to get through the day
but what if it’s Jesus and i walk away?
i say i’m the body and drink of the wine
but i pretend not to see her for the twenty-first time

this is a call for a change in my heart
i realize that i’ve not been doin’ my part
when i needed a Savior, i found it in Him
He gave to me, now i’ll give back to them

drifter or stranger, father or son
i’ll look for Jesus in every one
’cause i am the body and drink of the wine
and i’m thankful there’s more than the twenty-first time”

~ “the twenty-first time”… by monk & neagle

These words struck something in my heart. I was thinking about how there are so many songs on this topic — Todd Agnew’s “My Jesus,” “If We are the Body” by Casting Crowns — and I thought of how humble these words are.

The guys of Monk and Neagle take an honest and humble look at their hearts and lives in this song. And.. as I sat and listened to it [my cd came in yesterday’s mail.. they are so fast!.. and it’s not even the EP either — it is the full-length cd!] the words of this song really stood out to me.

I don’t live in a big city. I live outside a rather small farm town. But even here, when I go into one of the nearby small cities, I see people standing beside the road. I see them in the Wal-Mart parking lot, holding a big cardboard sign bearing the words, “veteran. will work for food,” or something similar. When I go into Dayton, there is almost never a day without a scraggly somebody standing on the corner selling roses.

Seeing people hurting is not something I like to do. I find that it is so easy just to turn the other way and pretend I do not see these people. Just because I don’t know what to do. I cannot really understand their situation and have no real idea of how to react, so it is easier just to pretend that I don’t see them, that I don’t see what they are going through. As much as I hate to say it, I know it’s true. I think it is all too true for much of the world today. I haven’t been everywhere, but I have travelled enough that I know this is true in so much of the world.

The extent to which this mindset has been spread does not excuse it though. We need to change it. We need to make a difference. I cannot make everything better, and I cannot reach out to every single person. I’m only one person here in America. But one person does have the ability to make a difference, to change the world. I believe that God can use me to change the world. If each one of us reaches out to those who are around us, to the ones we come in contact with, just maybe their lives will be touched and changed for the better. Just maybe they will see Jesus in us and in turn reach out to touch somebody else’s life.

We need to treat each person as if they are Jesus. [Matthew 25:40] He loves them and sees them as precious. Shouldn’t we look at them in the same way?

“People are precious, and sometimes we forget that. They are precious because God made them, and they need friends, they need love. Jesus never teased or hurt anybody, but He loved everyone, even the little and dumb and fat and ugly and weird, and well, if we all lived like that, then maybe terrible things like we’ve just seen wouldn’t happen.” ~ Frank Peretti, Hangman’s Curse

Jesus loves the little and dumb and fat and ugly and weird. He also loves the dirty, smelly, homeless, money-less people. He loves us all. No matter what we’ve done. No matter what we look or smell or act like.

I want to look for Him in each person I see. I want to look for ways to serve Him.

I want to love like Jesus.

