Time for another blog tour… this time I have Lisa Bergren as my guest. Check out her latest novels, The Begotten and The Betrayed for some good reads this fall!

Tara: How long have you been writing, and what got you started?

Lisa: Since college, really. I thought I’d try my hand at a contemporary romance when there weren’t any in the Christian market, and God did the rest! That was about 16 years ago.  

Tara: Who are your favorite authors to read?

Lisa: Francine Rivers, Angela Hunt, Liz Higgs, Davis Bunn, Tracy Groot, among Christian fiction authors.

Tara: When you are not writing, what do you enjoy doing?

Lisa: I wish I had a profound, spiritual answer for this, but I don’t. I just hang out with my family, make great meals and watch movies and TV (when my nose isn’t stuck in a good book)!

Tara: Where did you get the idea for your latest series, The Gifted?

Lisa: I read Da Vinci Code and stayed up all night reading it. In the end, I was grieved and angered at the heresy presented there. I set out to find a true biblical mystery, and two scholarly friends told me about the “lost letter(s) of Saint Paul,” written to the Corinthians. At the same time, was profoundly influenced in watching the Lord of the Rings trilogy on film. So when Publishers Weekly referenced both Da Vinci Code and LOTR, and compared my book, The Begotten, favorably, I was thrilled!

Tara: Are there plans for more books in this series?

Lisa: I’m currently at work on book #3, The Blessed. I think it ends there, but man, it’s hard to say goodbye to such compelling characters! Blessed comes out next fall.

Tara: Do you have a favorite Bible verse or passage? Why/how does this verse/passage inspire and encourage you as you live life from day to day?

Lisa: “Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.” –Philippians 4:13, The Message. Life sometimes seems daunting, even impossible, on particularly rough days. This reminds me that it isn’t up to me–it’s up to God. And since nothing compares to the great I AM…I just have to keep moving, trusting him to do his good work through me.

Tara: How has God used the circumstances in your life to grow you closer to Him?

Lisa: Adversity, business failure, death…all the bad stuff has amazing good stuff to harvest, if we can just break out the right equipment. God has blessed me to be able to praise him, even when things are crummy, which makes the good times even sweeter. And every year, every month, every day, I know a bit more about how very cool our God really is.

Tara: If you could tell the world just one thing, what would you most want them to know?

Lisa: Your life counts. Get up off your duff and live like it does. We need you! God needs you! Everyone’s in this thing!
Sorry. Is that rude? I’m a bit of a task-master…

Tara: Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions, Lisa!! 🙂

Lisa: Thank YOU, Tara! LTB

