“It is a safe thing to trust Him to fulfill the desire which He creates.” ~ Amy Carmichael

I know the truth of this statement. I know it firsthand because I have experienced it.

So why do I find it so hard sometimes to trust God? What makes it so difficult to let go of what I want or need… or what I think I want or need?

“He fulfills the desires of those who fear him…” [Psalm 145:19a, NIV]

A friend of mine wrote this on facebook yesterday; she got the first part from a movie and then shared her own thoughts on it: “We dont have emotions/dreams/desires that are pointless, that never have a prayer of being fulfilled. God doesn’t torture us like that. Everything we feel, we are meant to feel — and here’s my own theory: it’s up to us whether or not those feelings have any truth to them. We can sit on them, worry over them, or we can grab passionately to them and say ‘it’s possible.’ Totally possible.”

I so agree with her.

Everyone had dreams and desires. That’s a good thing. What is not a good thing is when we worry and obsess over whether we are supposed to feel the way we do and what we’re going to do about it. God didn’t give us desires and emotions only to dangle them in front of us like you always see a donkey chasing after a carrot in cartoons. We have to trust God and believe that He is going to take care of us, fulfilling the desires, dreams, and emotions that He has given us.

“Trust God from the bottom of your heart; don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all.” [Proverbs 3:5-7a, the Message]

Trust God…

I honestly am. I trust God, yet it is so easy to grab for control, wanting it back….

