“looking out the window at the clouds flying by 
i wonder if You moved them with a thought or with a breath
and as they pass, i see the beauty of the sky
and wonder how You decided to make it that blue
and once again i’m amazed 
i see the miracle of a baby being born
and wonder how You give us life 
i see this young boy trying to grow into a man
and wonder how You let us live so long
and once again i’m amazed 

i can see the majesty You have made 
i gaze into the eyes of Your creatures 
i can feel the wind You breathe on my face
and i’m amazed… at the wonder of it all

when beauty breaks forth from the shell of a worm 
i wonder how You give it wings
when green leaves burst into the colors of a flame 
i wonder why october is time for the display
and once again i’m amazed 

i can see the majesty You have made 
i gaze into the eyes of Your creatures 
i can feel the wind You breathe on my face
and i’m amazed… at the wonder of it all 

i’m amazed, speechless
stand in awe, astounded
can’t believe, Jesus
what You’ve done for me
the wonder of it all 

i can see the majesty You have made 
i gaze into the eyes of Your creatures 
i can feel the wind You breathe on my face
and i’m amazed…
at the wonder of it all”

~ “the wonder of it all”… by todd agnew

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve noticed some of the most beautiful sunrises on the way to school. I find myself wishing over and over that I’d brought a camera along, even though pictures of sunrises and other shows of creation never turn out nearly how I think they should.

I’ve been over Jellico mountain on the way back and forth from the Knoxville area four times within the space of about ten days lately… It was amazing to see how much the color changed just from one weekend to the next. I love seeing the “green leaves burst into the colors of a flame” as Todd Agnew phrases it.

The zinnias in my yard bloomed in the most fabulous purples, pinks, reds, and yellows over the summer, and I took so many pictures of the butterflies that visited them. I’ve got photos of three kinds of swallowtails, monarchs, skippers, and others.

I love this time of year when the leaves are floating down around me… The first chill of fall that makes me grab a jacket on my way out the door… Stepping on crunchy leaves when I’m walking… The weather that makes me want to curl up with a blanket, a good book or movie, and a cup of hot tea or chocolate.

When winter comes, I love watching snowflakes fall and going out to play in it. There’s just nothing like running around in the snow… It’s something I’ll never outgrow.

New leaves and buds on the trees and bulbs each spring, the smell of mulch and cut grass, planting flowers, watering the garden and exploring whatever has been growing and producing fruit… The warmth of the sun shining as I bike along country roads… The amazing depth in the blue of the sky and the clouds that travel across it… Each sunset God paints…

There is no lack of display or limit to God’s creativity. The only thing lacking is the awe the world should have at it all.

The lack of awe and wonder in myself at God’s creation really disturbs me. Sure, sometimes I stop to admire the sunrise – like lately. I honestly try to stop and always smell the roses. But… sometimes isn’t good enough for me. I want it to be an instinctive addition to my lifestyle. With every crunchy leaf I crush, with each breath of wind on my face, with every sunrise and every zinnia… with every snowflake… I want to be truly in awe of God and His sovereignty.

Sometimes isn’t when I should be amazed. It really needs to be always. I don’t want to notice only when I think I have time or have nothing else to do. I want it instead to influence and infiltrate my whole life and being. That’s really the only way it should ever be.

“Next time a sunrise steals your breath or a meadow of flowers leaves you speechless, remain that way. Say nothing and listen as heaven whispers, ‘Do you like it? I did it just for you.'” [The Great House of God, by Max Lucado]

