“on a day like this i want to crawl beneath a rock 
a million miles from the world, the noise, the commotion
that never seems to stop

and on a day like this i want to run away from the routine
run away from the daily grind that can suck the life
right out of me 
i only know of one place i can run to

i want to hide in You
the Way, the Life, the Truth
so i can disappear
and love is all there is to see
coming out of me
and You become clear
as i disappear 

i don’t want to care about earthly things
be caught up in all the lies that trick my eyes
they say it’s all about me
i’m so tired of it being about me

i would rather be cast away
separated from the human race
if i don’t bring You glory
if i don’t bring You glory
if i don’t bring You glory…”

~ “disappear”… by bebo norman

All around, almost every message these days focuses on us. Every billboard or commercial appears to cater to the comfort and satisfaction of us all. It’s such a smothering message that makes me feel closed-in on every side. To have everything be about me is so selfish.. and honestly, it’s boring.

I’d rather run away from it all. I’d rather disappear and make my life and the message I send to those around me point to the only place I can really be satisfied.

There is no point to my life if I am not bringing glory to God. I can’t be in the picture aside from pointing to the One that makes everything else worthwhile.

“He must increase, but I must decrease. [He must grow more prominent; I must grow less so.]” [John 3:30, Amplified Bible]

“The great business of life is to glorify God by enjoying him forever.” ~ John Piper

It can be fun to get all caught up in chasing after what is thrown at us every day. To think about myself and what I want. But it gets old so quickly, and all that kind of lifestyle does is give off a message that is completely opposite of what I want to demonstrate.

I want love to be all there is to see coming out of me. That has to be what my life is all about. Disappearing. I have to disappear, all of me, so that only God’s love is left.

