I had the opportunity to ask Tricia Goyer some questions a few days ago for her blog tour. 🙂 … 

Tara: If you were a crayon, what color would you be? 

Tricia: Yellow. Bright, optimistic, and busy.

Tara: What meal do your kids hate to find out you’re fixing for supper? 

Tricia: Stir-fry … too many vegetables, not enough beef!

Tara: If you were guest-starring on a Veggie Tales dvd, which story would you most want to be a part of? 

Tricia: I’d sing along with Bob as he sings, “Where is my hair brush.” It was my first introduction to singing vegetables, and that some has endeared itself to my heart.

Tara: What song officially starts your Christmas season? 

Tricia: I was JUST thinking about pulling out my Christmas cds today! I love “Away in a Manger” and other songs sung by my kids. Their voices and hearts are so pure.

Tara: How long does is typically take you to write a novel? 

Tricia: 6 months or so, depending on research.

Tara: What advice to you have for aspiring writers?

Tricia: Read your favorite novels and take notes what you like about them. Pretend you are your favorite novelist … how would they write the story you want to write? How would they describe things? How would they write the dialogue? What would the main problems be? Like any art form the more we understand art the better we can understand how to do it for ourselves.

Tara: What first sparked your interest in the Spanish Civil War and World War 2?

Tricia: I first got interested in WWII when I was Europe. While I was there, I became interested in the TRUE stories behind WWII. When I got home, I contacted some of the veterans and they told me their stories. I also attending two World War II reunions, and the more I found out, the more I wanted to learn. So … while I was researching for WWII, I heard about The Spanish Civil War. It took place right before WWII in Spain. Again, once I started researching I wanted to learn more.

Tara: You’ve based several novels on actual events… Is this also the case with A Shadow of Treason?

Tricia: Yes, there are many events in that story that are based on things that really happened. The battles, the bombings, the troops–that part is true. Also one element of this story is stolen gold. The gold is the part I fictionalized. They believe gold was stolen, but they don’t know by who or why. I took the questions and wrapped a story around it.

Tara: What would you most like your readers to know about this book?

Tricia: I have to say that out of all my novels the characters in this one took on a life of their own. Seriously, there is one part in the story that there was a knock at the bedroom door. Sophie opens it … and it WAS NOT the person I thought it was.

Also, God did a really cool thing and plopped something into my life (into my email) who helped me with my research. Norm was looking for information on his genealogy … and he became my research assistant when I discovered he flew the very planes I wrote about!

Tara: What does your schedule look like for your upcoming releases?

Tricia: Max Lucado’s 3:16 Teen Version (that I wrote the teen responses for) will be out January 1.
Generation NeXt Marriage (Multnomah) will be out January 15.
A Whisper of Freedom, Book Three in The Chronicles of The Spanish Civil War (Moody) will be out February 15.
And …
Sweet September (Guidepost Books) will be out in July.

Tara: Thank you so much for taking the time to answer my questions! 🙂 

Tricia: Thank you! 

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

See a schedule of the rest of Tricia’s blog tour, and watch video trailers for her Spanish Civil War series and also her World War 2 books! There is also a contest going on right now — to enter, sign up for Tricia’s newsletter on her website during the blog tour.

