“Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is he who has forgiveness of his transgression continually exercised upon him, whose sin is covered. Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) is the man to whom the Lord imputes no iniquity and in whose spirit there is no deceit. When I kept silence [before I confessed], my bones wasted away through my groaning all the day long. For day and night Your hand [of displeasure] was heavy upon me; my moisture was turned into the drought of summer. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]! I acknowledged my sin to You, and my iniquity I did not hide. I said, I will confess my transgressions to the Lord [continually unfolding the past till all is told]–then You [instantly] forgave me the guilt and iniquity of my sin. Selah [pause, and calmly think of that]!” [Psalm 32:1-5, Amplified Bible]

A friend and I read these verses.. I think it was two weeks ago.. during a Bible study, and they really stood out to both of us. Not necessarily the confession aspect of it all so much as the need for prayer in general, although the words on confession are so important also.

We talked about how crucial prayer is in our everyday lives. When we are silent and don’t pray, our “bones waste away”. We live like we’re in a drought, all dried up. All the life is drained out of us. Just like a plant when there’s no rain.

I think that describes so well the power of prayer in our lives.

When we neglect to pray, we’re acting as though our relationship with God isn’t important. Because.. just as communication is essential in a marriage, or in a friendship between any people, it is essential in our relationship with our Maker. Prayer is communication with God, and it is really what keeps us going.. what brings life to our days.

