I was watching “It’s a Wonderful Life” Sunday night… I had been wanting to watch it for quite a while, but a couple nights ago I finally got to put a little Jimmy Stewart in my Christmas and watch one of my all-time favorite movies.

It is so amazing to think of how many lives each of us touch. Even the ones we may never come in direct contact with. Like those guys on the transport that Harry saved by shooting down the enemy planes. When Harry wasn’t there to save those men because George wasn’t there to save Harry.. have you ever stopped to consider how many other lives were changed because of that? Not only would all those men have died, but every life each of those men had touched would also have been changed.

Everything we do creates a ripple effect, a chain reaction. We have the opportunity to make such a difference in the lives of those around us.. and in the lives of those around each of them.. and so on. Even though we will never see the full effect of our actions.

God says, “I know the plans I have for you… They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.” [Jeremiah 29:11-13, NLT]

If God has plans for me.. shouldn’t I be content with where He’s placed me? Shouldn’t I make the most of the opportunities I have been given?… My life is worth something.. and it’s worth more than sitting around just watching tv during all the time I don’t have to waste.

“But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” [Acts 20:24, NLT]

I have to share..

“Anyone, then, who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.” [James 4:17, NIV]

We’ve all been given an amazingly precious gift.. We have been given life. Don’t ever underestimate its value or our ability to make a difference in the world surrounding us.

Live intentionally.

