“you don’t run with the crowd
you go your own way
you don’t play after dark
you light up my day
got your own kind of style
that sets you apart…
that’s why you captured my heart
i know sometimes you feel like you don’t fit in
and this world doesn’t know what you have within
when i look at you, i see something rare
a rose that can grow anywhere
and there’s no one i know that can compare

what makes you different
makes you beautiful
what’s there inside you
shines through to me
in your eyes i see
all the love i’ll ever need
you’re all i need…
what makes you different
makes you beautiful to me

you got something so real
you touched me so deep
see material things
don’t matter to me
so come as you are
you’ve got nothing to prove
you won me with all that you do
and i wanna take this chance to say to you

you don’t know how you touched my life
in so many ways i just can’t describe
you taught me what love is supposed to be
you saw the little things that make you
beautiful to me

everything you do is beautiful
love you give shines right through me
everything you do is beautiful
you’re beautiful to me”

~ by the backstreet boys

Okay… I know I could really get laughed at for this one — I honestly love this song though. I love the words of it. It makes me stop and take a look at my life.

What makes me any different from the next girl? I want to stand out. And not because of the way I look or don’t look.

Rachel Scott wrote that she wanted to be the one to turn heads in the hallway — because of the way she let God’s love shine through her. She wanted to be the one who made friends with the ones everyone else ignored and avoided.

Maybe it means that I won’t be all that popular with a lot of people, but I really don’t care.

I want to act the same way, no matter if I am in church or at school/work or home or out somewhere else. People should not be able to see any difference in my words and actions depending on my surroundings. Is that the case right now?… I hope so.

“Let not yours be the [merely] external adorning with [elaborate] interweaving and knotting of the hair, the wearing of jewelry, or changes of clothes; but let it be the inward adorning and beauty of the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible and unfading charm of a gentle and peaceful spirit, which [is not anxious or wrought up, but] is very precious in the sight of God” [1 Peter 3:3-4, Amplified Bible].

… I love how this translation includes the word “merely” in there at the beginning of verse 3. Because.. there’s nothing wrong with wearing jewelry or braiding your hair or whatever — so long as that’s not where your focus is. That kind of thing is not what makes us beautiful. What makes us beautiful or ugly is our heart. How do we act and react toward others? Are we respectful? Are we gentle and peaceful, or are we pushy and selfish?

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine told me this quote from her pastor at another church.. “I will go out of my way to love those in my way when I’m on my way.” This kind of attitude comes from a beautiful heart.

When my heart is beautiful, it will show in the way I live. Because just as water reflects a face, the heart reflects who we really are. [Proverbs 27:19] And real beauty is the most attractive thing.

