“turnin’ molehills into mountains
makin’ big deals out of small ones
bearing gifts as if they’re burdens
this is how it’s been
afraid of coming out of my shell
too many things i can’t do too well
afraid i’ll try real hard and i’ll fail
this is how it’s been
till the day You pounded on my heart’s door
and You shouted joyfully
‘you’re not a slave anymore!’

‘you’re free to dance
forget about your two left feet
and you’re free to sing
even joyful noise is music to Me
you’re free to love
’cause I’ve given you My love
and it’s made you free
I have set you free!’

my mind finds hard to believe
that You became humanity and
changed the course of history
because You loved us so
and my heart cannot understand
how You accept me as i am
but You say You’ve always had a plan
and that’s all i need to know
so when i am consumed
with what the world will say
then You’re singing to me
as You remove my chains

free from worry
free from envy and denial
free to live, free to give, free to smile…”

~ “free”… by ginny owens

Following where He leads – and trusting Him to lead me in the first place – gives so much freedom in life. I don’t have to worry about what comes next or about what others think of me.

When I am living freely in God, just letting go of everything and trusting Him to fulfill my desires, others notice. One of the best experiences for me is when people ask me if I’m a Christian. That means God is shining through my life. They are not seeing me, because if they were… well, I don’t think they would ask me that question. Because I am human. I make mistakes… so many of them.

The freedom God brings to my life means that I don’t have to change for anybody, and I don’t have any pressure to become somebody I am not. As part of my nature, I tend to be too consumed with what the world has to say, but God’s great love brings a freedom to me exactly who He made me to be. A freedom to follow His plan for my life, to discover and explore what He has dreamed for me. A freedom from all worries of what people are going to say.

“Turnin’ molehills into mountains, makin’ big deals out of small ones”… yeah, that’s pretty much me. I’m really good at making a big deal out of everything, and it so gets in the way of life. To make big deals out of small ones and to bear gifts as if they’re burdens takes the joy out of life.

Joy is found though, when I realize that God loves me just the way I am, that He came and changed all of history just because He loved us.

Sometimes when the clouds are out rather than the sun, and when I can’t see around the bend in the road, it’s hard to trust and to live freely. I guess it is one more way to step out in faith.. And really, that is what trust is — to go forward even though I cannot see what’s ahead. Faith is being sure of what I cannot see. [Hebrews 11:1]

I love the way God takes my imperfections and turns them into freedom to throw caution to the wind, forget about everyone else, and just follow Him and live intentionally with joy.

