“everyday i sit and pray to God above
that You’ll watch over me and my family
but everyday i seem to pray the same old thing
in the same old way, and i start to think
that maybe i should change
and find something better to say
but i’ve learned to believe
You always hear me when i pray

so i get down on my knees
’cause i’m stronger than these
voices inside of my head
they try to deceive me
and make me believe
that i would be better instead
to take my requests and put them to rest
but You’re already one step ahead
You knew just what i would say
before it was said

every night i lie awake wondering
if You’re listening to every heartbeat
You’ve told me that You know the deepest part of me
and You’ll watch over me and my family

so i guess i shouldn’t change
’cause You hear every word that i say
and i know You are here
when i come to You this way

… and i knew You were here
when i knelt down today…”

~ “before it was said”… by ffh

Have you ever found these thoughts running through your mind? I have..

I’ve found myself praying the same thing every day, and then it makes me wonder why I am even praying at all. If I’m going to just say the same old thing every day, what’s the point, right?

My heart has to go into what I am praying. Praying just to pray is stupid, because there is such a lack of sincerity in that.

When I am thanking God for His blessings and honestly pouring my heart out to Him, I really don’t think it matters if I say the same words every day. I know from experience, though, that when I’m really pouring out to God what is in my heart, I won’t end up saying the same words all the time.

I know God hears me.. every word that I say.. every heartbeat.. so why should I worry about the words? There is nothing magical about praying certain words or phrases. The words that come out of my mouth aren’t what matters. It is my heart that matters, the heart attitude that is behind my prayers.

I guess some might say that.. since God already knows my heart and my thoughts.. why pray? But He wants us to pray.. He loves it when we pour out our hearts to Him. “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” [Philippians 4:6-7, NIV]

A couple of friends and I are doing a Bible study this semester that is all about prayer. Two of the three of us started it last semester, but we got a late start on it, and the semester was over before we could finish. So.. we’re starting again, with another girl joining us, and.. it should be really great. We are so excited to see what God does. Just a guess, but from what the newer girl has said, the other two of us don’t think she’s a believer.. so this should give us some amazing opportunities to share. She’s so open and is excited about being a part of the Bible study.

I’m praying for those opportunities, for our study, for our little group, for my heart to be in the right place..

And I’m excited and expectant for what God is going to do and is already doing in, through, and around us this semester.

