“say won’t You say
say that You love me
with love, ever, love, love everlasting
all my devotion
put into motion by You

every morning
i have a chance to rise and give my all
but every afternoon 
i find i have only wasted time
in light of Your awe

isn’t love amazing
i forgot how to speak
knowing You are near
and i am finally free

my eyes fear to close
this reckless letting go is hard to bear
on the edge of all i need
still i cling to what i see
and what have i there

bred my own disaster
who have i to blame
when all i need
is waiting to be fanned to flame

i opened up my eyes to see You standing there
oh i can barely breathe
and i can hardly bear
all the love that i feel for You inside
i hope You feel it now
some, somehow…”

~ “say won’t You say”.. by jennifer knapp

Aren’t we all looking for this? Everybody wants to be loved.. to be needed.. to be wanted. Everybody desires to be desired. It’s part of who we are as humans.

Kind of like that quote from Ted Dekker’s book, Black… Thomas said “What if I don’t want to be in love?” and Michal answered him, “Of course you want to be love! You’re human!”

That’s the way God made us.. to want and need to be loved. The only problem is that.. as a whole, we try to fill our needs and wants with everything but Him. We go looking for our heart’s desire.. kinda like Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz.. She thinks it’s too simple for what she’s always needed in her heart to be right there in front of her nose. So.. she runs off, expecting to find something amazing.

And ya know, she does. Dorothy finds that she had what she always wanted and needed waiting for her back home.

It’s just the same with us.

We run around searching for something to fill us up, someone to love us, and we forget how close God really is. We forget that when we’re delighting ourselves in the One who made us and letting Him be the one to fill us up, He is going to bring us our heart’s desires.. those desires that are buried deep in the secret places of who we are. The ones that sometimes we don’t even know ourselves.

“Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He will give you the desires and secret petitions of your heart” [Psalm 37:4, Amplified Bible].

Love is amazing.. and to really make the most of it all, I’ve got to let God be the one I’m devoted to above all else. I don’t want to waste time running around looking for what’s right here in front of me. I’ve got to instead let go of what I can’t control and just be free to let God work in His own ways and timing.

He so wants us to let Him really love us.

