So last week I got a comment on a post I wrote back like six months ago…

It was such an enthusiastic comment.. so excited about that post. The girl commenting asked me if I’ve found anything I can do to help in the situations I’d mentioned in my writing.

And it hit me just how important accountability is in life.

I can live day after day after day and never ever change what I do, the way I act.. and nobody will ever know..

That is, unless I’m accountable to somebody. I’ve got to answer to someone.. have somebody there to ask me questions like that. Somebody to set into motion all my good intentions. Because unless I act on my decisions and convictions.. that’s all they are — good intentions.

How stupid is it to be shown what I need to change and then walk away, forgetting it? It’s just like that passage in James…

“Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like” [James 1:22-24, the Message].

It’s like seeing my dirty face in the mirror and then the next minute turning around and never wiping my mouth.. just going on about my daily life, forgetting that I ever looked in the mirror and saw my chocolatey mouth. Those verses never really stood out to me before like they have just now. I’ve heard them a million times, ya know, but it just hit me suddenly how much they apply to the whole bit about the comment.

Please. Keep me accountable. Ask me questions. The hard questions. Ask me if I’ve changed what I’ve said I wanted to change.. but then also ask me how I’ve changed. I so want that accountability.

I cannot even tell you how many times lately I’ve been so thankful for the Bible study times a couple of friends and I have been having each week at school this semester. It’s been forcing me into the Word. Making me read and dig in like I have so wanted to, like I’ve done in the past, but not for so long. I love it.

Keep me in it. Please.

And if you don’t know if it’s your place to ask.. then let me just tell ya — if you’re reading this, then yes, please do ask me. I don’t have to know you personally in order for you to ask me those questions.

