My last living great uncle passed away last week. I went down to Berea, Kentucky with my family for the services on Thursday.

As we were standing there talking with family members at the viewing, somebody let everyone know that the wife of one of our cousins had been in a bad car accident that morning and had been taken to the University of Kentucky hospital via careflight. Nobody knew her condition, just that it was a bad accident.

Throughout the services for my Uncle Aster, everyone kept commenting on how they never knew him to say anything bad about anyone.. ever. Each person who stood up to speak mentioned his constant love for God and for people.

And that’s what it’s all about — As Winston Churchill said, “We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give.”

If we want to be full of life, even to the end, we’ve got to give love.. and give it generously. It might not make us wealthy in a physical sense.. but it will give us a life worth living.. and a life worth remembering. When I consider how I’ll be remembered, I want to live so as to be known for the love I gave.. not for how much or how little money I had or whether I was the best-looking or whatever.

After the viewing, funeral, and then dinner [and keep in mind.. this was in Kentucky, so it was quite a meal!], my family and I made our way over to the hospital. We found Vicki still in the emergency room [due to lack of rooms], with a vertebrae in her neck broken [fractured? I don’t know medical terms..] and some scrapes/bruises on her arm. But she’s alright other than that. Nothing permanent, so we’re thankful to God for that. 🙂

It was nice to get to sit and visit with her mother-in-law [my great aunt], brother-in-law, and husband while we were at the hospital. It’d been a while since we’d seen them…

I had the opportunity to just sit there talking with Aunt Jerry for a little bit… She’s so sweet, and I could tell she loved just having someone to talk with, someone to listen to the stories she had. At one point, she just stopped and said to me, “You have the most beautiful blue eyes.”

She, too, has lived an amazing life.. [honestly, pretty much that entire side of my family has..] Aunt Jerry married Uncle Junior when she was only 15. I wonder sometimes if she ever wished she’d waited a few more years… But as she said last week, while describing how she and her husband made a little house for their girls to play with their dolls in, “I took a long time to grow up.”

I want my life to be significant and full.. like Aunt Jerry, and like Uncle Aster and Uncle Junior. Like Uncle Dwain and my Mema and Papa.

“And in the end it is not the years in a life that matter, but the life in the years.”
~ Abraham Lincoln

