“it’s not about me
it’s all about You
it’s not about my pride
it’s all about Your truth

and so right here from the start
i open up my heart
and say Lord here’s every part
’cause it’s all about You

Jesus, Jesus
Jesus, it’s all about You..”

~ “it’s all about You”.. by big daddy weave

When we drop the facade and the pride that so many of us have going on, when we make our lives really all about Jesus — the way it’s supposed to be — we start living a completely different way. I’ve noticed that the way I approach situations in my life is different, depending on how much time I’ve spent lately seeking to know God more.

One of my favorite people in the world died this past Thursday morning. He was an absolutely amazing older man who’d had health problems for years. He never complained though, and he’d always have a smile to share. Even in the days when anybody else would be staying at home in bed, he’d come to church. None of my grandparents are living now, and this man became so dear to my heart.. he was so grandpa-ish, and I just loved him.

Well, yesterday a lady from church called my mom to see if she’d like to make some food for the family, and she made the comment to my mom that she was just about the last one she could call. She said that everybody she’d called was either too old or they lived too far away, they were working, or they just plain old didn’t want to make any food for them. Hmm.. what kind of a reason is that? My mom told me about the phone call, and it really sickened both of us. Who in the world wouldn’t want to do something for this man and his family?! He’s the sweetest old man.

The only thing I can come up with is that some people must just think they’re “too good” to do something for somebody besides themselves.

So.. in thinking about this, it’s made me more and more conscious of my own attitude. The world is not about me.. and I cannot try to make it that way. I’ve got to make sure my actions and words add up and turn the focus to my Maker and to those around me. When I have the opportunity to serve someone, I want to take it. [Which doesn’t mean I can never say no.. honestly, it’s something I need to learn to do more often, because I want to jump in to help out whenever I can.] I want my heart to be a servant’s heart — not caring about how serving makes me look or if I get dirty, not caring about what others might think or about some silly reward I might get. I want to have a humble, others-centered outlook on life, just watching for those times when I can make food for a hurting family.. or whatever the situation happens to be. I want to make my life be about God.. like it should be.

“I give you a new commandment: that you should love one another. Just as I have loved you, so you too should love one another. By this shall all [men] know that you are My disciples, if you love one another [if you keep on showing love among yourselves].” [John 13:34-35, Amplified Bible]

Yeah.. I want to love people like Jesus has loved me.. With a servant’s heart..

