On Monday, a friend and I who have a Bible study together were reading through Mark chapter 5. This chapter is all about a man who had evil spirits living in him, a lady who’d been sick for a long time, and a dad and his dying little girl. It’s about what Jesus does for them and the impact He has on their lives.

We wanted to take something away from that time of sitting there reading.. and as we talked about the chapter, a thought came back to me that I’d had while reading that chapter the day before.

Each person mentioned had an encounter with Jesus.. and their lives were all changed as a result.

Think of what it must have been like for each one… In what position would a face to face encounter with Jesus leave them? Were they scared at all? Do you think they ever found the emotions of being changed start to fade? And when those emotions started to fade, do you think they worried that maybe they would slip back to who they were before they met Jesus?

Jesus changes people. It’s as simple as that. He’ll change us if we will just let Him.

When we have an encounter with Jesus, it needs to be evidenced in the way we live our lives… when we have a real encounter with Jesus and truly give our hearts to Him, He is going to change us. From the inside out.

I was thinking about how meeting Jesus changes the way we go about everyday life, and the song “Changed” by Phil Joel came to mind. I love the way he talks about the real changes that come about when we let God work and move in our hearts. Who we used to be is gone, and we are transformed more and more as He works His wonders into who He made us to be.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” [2 Corinthians 5:17, NIV]

As we begin to take on the characteristics that come from being made new in Christ.. the superficial nature of the world suddenly matters less in our eyes than it used to. We grow in qualities like love and joy, patience and peace. [Galatians 5:16-26, NIV]

“I appeal to you therefore, brethren, and beg of you in view of [all] the mercies of God, to make a decisive dedication of your bodies [presenting all your members and faculties] as a living sacrifice, holy (devoted, consecrated) and well pleasing to God, which is your reasonable (rational, intelligent) service and spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world (this age), [fashioned after and adapted to its external, superficial customs], but be transformed (changed) by the [entire] renewal of your mind [by its new ideals and its new attitude], so that you may prove [for yourselves] what is the good and acceptable and perfect will of God, even the thing which is good and acceptable and perfect [in His sight for you].” [Romans 12:1-2, Amplified Bible]

“i wrote a letter today
and what i wrotewas my own obituary
‘cause from the graveyard of self
You have resurrected me
i sing Jesus
You have changed the way i do everything
You have changed the way i see everything
with You i begin
every day the same
and i’m gonna drink deep
that is why i came
‘cause truth is a river flowing
renewal for your mind
let it set your heart free
the way that it did mine…
looked in the mirror today
and what i saw was not the same as yesterday
‘cause more and more You’re
transforming and rearranging me
You have changed the way i do everything
You have changed the way i wear my wedding ring
You have changed the way i treat my family
You have changed the way i see all my friends
You have changed the way that i spend my time
You have changed the way that i use my mind
You have changed the things i spend money on
You have changed everything i ever thought was mine
You have changed my emotions, You have steadied me
You have changed my eyes and what i let them see
You have changed the course of my history
thank God, You’re still changing me!…” 

~ “changed”… by phil joel

When we encounter Jesus, this kind of life change is going to follow. I want to live out this kind of change in my life, as evidence of meeting my Savior.

