I visited the young adult group at Christian Life Center yesterday! We’ve been trying for quite a while to start a similar group at my church.. but after several months, we still only have 3-4 people attending consistently.. including my sister and myself.

So.. I started looking up the young adult sort of groups online in January or February. Couldn’t visit any in March becasue I was teaching the 5 & 6 year olds during the service for the whole month, filling in for the regular teacher. But it’s April now. So I went. After Sunday school [didn’t want to desert the little class we’re still *trying* to start!], my sister and I made the trip from one church to the other.

And.. it was amazing. There were tons of friendly people. It was a nice size for the class to be — a lot of people, but not too many that you couldn’t get to know them. And I met so many people that I can’t remember all their names! — which, as my sister commented, is definitely a good sign! The teaching and discussion was fabulous. Genuinely thought-provoking, biblically-grounded stuff. I loved it.

Then yesterday evening, there was a little folksy worship concert at the Potsdam Church of the Brethren. We’d seen it advertised in the Stillwater Advertiser.. and decided we’d go check that out too! And guess what we found out.. Joseph was amazing too!

It was kinda funny because we were surrounded by.. um.. older people. Like way older. Which is fine. I love people.. of all ages. My friends range in age from little children to the elderly. It just amused me that I could count on my fingers the number of people who were my parents’ age or younger, and everybody else was older. But ya know what? The people there were so friendly also.

Friendliness stands out to people. I’m used to being in the midst of people I know at school or church or wherever else. During our Bible study times, my friend and I will be sitting there reading and discussing, and half the people who walk by wave to me and say hi.. and it always makes my friend smile.. she laughs and says, “Tara, you know everyone!” [Just to let ya know, I do pay attention as we read.. it’s just that as a tutor at my job in the Learning Center, I have trained myself to subconsciously look up to see who comes in as I’m working on stuff, so I know whether it’s another tutor or somebody I need to check in.. ;)] So yeah.. as someone who’s used to knowing tons of people, it put me in a different position to be the one who only knew one person.. and I’d not even seen her in years.. only talked on facebook. I was so impressed with how friendly everyone was yesterday.. at both churches I visited. 🙂

So let me just challenge you with the same thing I’m challenging myself — when you see someone new, make it a point to go out of your way to make them feel welcome. Be intentional about it. It is so attractive and reflects the love of Jesus in a way all its own.

…And now.. one last “guess what”.. This has absolutely nothing to do with the rest of this post, but I just had to share it! Last Sunday.. March 30th.. I bought my tickets to go see.. the Jonas Brothers in Columbus on August 23rd!!! 🙂 I am slightly ecstatic about it.

