“Jesus left there and went to his hometown, accompanied by his disciples. When the Sabbath came, he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were amazed. ‘Where did this man get these things?’ they asked. ‘What’s this wisdom that has been given him, that he even does miracles! Isn’t this the carpenter? Isn’t this Mary’s son and the brother of James, Joseph, Judas and Simon? Aren’t his sisters here with us?’ And they took offense at him. Jesus said to them, ‘Only in his hometown, among his relatives and in his own house is a prophet without honor.’ He could not do any miracles there, except lay his hands on a few sick people and heal them. And he was amazed at their lack of faith…” [Mark 6:1-6, NIV]

How do you think it made Jesus feel to be rejected this way in His own hometown? A friend of mine and I were talking about it Monday afternoon. And.. we both decided we’re able to relate somewhat.

Over the past few months, I’ve been feeling less and less at home where I’d calling “my home church”. With the lack of a young adult class, in addition to some other stuff. Then this past Sunday, my sister and I were sought out to be told that there are two young adult small activities coming up.. the start of a small group, and also a get-together thing. Which is great. Except for the fact that since I’d talked with people about it before and nothing happened until I actually went and visited another church, I get the feeling that these new groups and all are happening just because of the action I have begun to take.

To turn the issue around, making it into being about “me being happy”.. is not what I want at all, and it is not what I have been hoping [and praying] to see. When it becomes about me being happy.. or about me at all, for that matter, something has got to change. Because the point is not to make me — or anybody else — happy. The point is to teach the Bible in a relevant way that we can take home and apply in our everyday lives. The point is to glorify our Maker. And I feel like we’ve misplaced that somewhere along the way.

And hopefully this doesn’t sound all critical, because that is not what I am going for here. I guess I just never really understood that passage in Mark before.. I didn’t really understand how the people Jesus knew all His life, in His own hometown, could suddenly be so against Him and not welcome Him in. Not that I can completely relate to what He must have felt, seeing how the circumstances are different… but at least it has caused me to stop and consider it.. and to consider my own actions and life.

