“nowhere to live, nowhere to fall
he used to have money, but he’s wasted it all
his face is a photograph burned in my mind
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

he sleeps under stars, that’s all he can afford
his blanket’s an old coat he’s had since the war
he stands on the corner of carter and vine
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

he may be a drifter, he’s grown old and gray
what if he’s Jesus and i walk away?
i say i’m the body and drink of the wine
but i pretend not to see him for the twenty-first time

she’s twenty-nine but she feels forty-eight
she can’t raise three kids on minimum wage
she’s cryin’ in back of the welfare line
but i pretend not to see her for the twenty-first time

she may be a stranger tryin’ to get through the day
but what if it’s Jesus and i walk away?
i say i’m the body and drink of the wine
but i pretend not to see her for the twenty-first time

this is a call for a change in my heart
i realize that i’ve not been doin’ my part
when i needed a Savior, i found it in Him
He gave to me, now i’ll give back to them

drifter or stranger, father or son
i’ll look for Jesus in every one
’cause i am the body and drink of the wine
and i’m thankful there’s more than the twenty-first time”

~ “the twenty-first time”… by monk & neagle

What sort of people do you run into each day?

I love how this song is a call for action in us.. in our lives. Because it’s so easy to hear stories that twist your heart all up and make you want to cry, but then doing something about it is another story.

We may have walked past these hurting, lonely people twenty times or more, just pretending not to see them. But we have a responsibility to take some action. To no longer pretend we don’t see them. To love them as Jesus loves them.. to live out His love for them in practical ways.

I have this friend.. we worked together for two semesters at college.. and this summer we’ve had the chance to meet a few times at a little local coffee shop. The first time we went, when we were getting ready to leave, she spoke up before I said anything. She said, “Hey, this was fun! Let’s do it again soon.”

So we did.

And we have plans for meeting this week too.

Having gotten to know her somewhat through work and then meeting to just talk.. it strikes me that she is someone I could just walk right by and pretend not to see. I don’t agree with her every decision.. ya might even say that I disagree with more than I agree with.. never know.. But I’ve chosen not to walk right past her.. I am choosing to befriend her and be Jesus to her in the best ways I can.

For whatever reason, she has an immense amount of respect for me, and I’m one of very few people in all the world who she really trusts. I can’t help but think and pray that through meeting and talking together, being friends, I could have this fabulous opportunity to watch God change her life and make her into someone new. Or maybe I won’t ever get to see it.. but I am trusting and praying for it to happen just the same.

So.. she’s not a stranger, but I think it applies in a huge way anyway.

I cannot pretend not to see her.

To do so would be to ignore blatantly everything God has done for me. He didn’t pretend not to see me.. He’s not like that. He loves us as we are and changes us from the inside out. I want to watch Him change her heart too.

Another friend of mine the other day brought up the idea of giving even just a cup of cold water to somebody.. just the simple gesture of a smile.. and it can brighten someone’s entire day. Ya never know, it just might change their life. [Matthew 10:42]

