“i wish i was more of a man
have you ever felt that way
and if i had to tell you the truth
i’m afraid i’d have to say
that after all i’ve done and failed to do
i feel like less than i was meant to be

what if i could fix myself
maybe then i could get free
i could try to be somebody else
who’s much better off than me
but i need to remember this
that it’s when i’m at my weakest
i can clearly see

He made the lame walk and the dumb talk
He opened blinded eyes to see
that the sun rises on His time
yet He knows our deepest desperate need
and the world waits while His heart aches
to realize the dream
i wonder what life would be like
if we let Jesus live through you and me

what if you could see yourself through another pair of eyes
what if you could hear the truth
instead of old familiar lies
what if you could feel inside
the power of the hand that made the universe
you’d realize…

all our hearts, they burn within us
all our lives we’ve longed for more
so let us lay our lives before the one who gave His life for us..”

~ “what would life be like”.. by big daddy weave

I think it is simpler to overlook what He has done.. to forget about what He still does today. Maybe that’s why I find myself sometimes almost ignoring what He can do and what He wants to do.

The truth is that He did make the lame walk and the dumb talk. He did open blinded eyes to see the sunrise, and that same sun does rise on His time. He takes care of making sure it rises and sets at just the right second. He takes care of the birds and the grass [Matthew 6:25-34]. Look around you. It’s true. And yet He knows just exactly what I need too. He knows not only what I need, He also knows the very second I need it. He knows my deepest desperate need. The deepest desperate need in my heart. He knows it better than I do. His heart aches for me to know the extent to which He cares, and it aches for me to really let Him completely take over my heart.

And if I really let Jesus live through me.. if I not only believe that He can make the lame walk and the dumb talk and open blinded eyes to see and that the sun rises on His time.. if I not only believe it but actually look around waiting and watching expectantly for His greatness and miracles.. if I let that kind of faith take hold of my heart, then just think of the implications. Think of what that kind of faith could accomplish in a life in which Jesus is living and breathing.

How would it change the way I see others? Or myself? Or my future and my past? What about the present? How would it change the way I live?

His power is so great. So huge. So much beyond anything I could comprehend.. and yet I find myself too often not living as though I realize what He’s done — not letting it affect my life. How crazy that is.

I really want to do more than just wonder what life would be like.. I want to find out.. what would life be like if I let Jesus live through me like that, if I really lived out that kind of faith and belief.. I want to find out how life would change. How my priorities and thoughts and words and actions would change.. I want to always consider this and live accordingly.. “And there are also many other things which Jesus did. If they should be all recorded one by one [in detail], I suppose that even the world itself could not contain (have room for) the books that would be written.” – John 21:25, Amplified Bible

The sun rises on His time. I don’t need to worry myself about anything. He even takes care of when to make the sun rise.

