“People here are funny. They work so hard at living they forget how to live.” – Longfellow Deeds in Mr. Deeds Goes to Town

I don’t understand a lot of people.. Just like Mr. Deeds, I look around me and see that so much of the world is just rushing to and fro, busying themselves with everything but really living, busying themselves with everything but God. And I don’t get it.

Everything becomes faster and faster paced.. crazier and speedier and more like a tornado than ever. Life becomes all about getting the newest and the best and the most sophisticated of every little thing.. when all it really should be about is our relationship with our Savior and knowing Him more and living for Him.

We have to take the time to just enjoy and to live. Life really isn’t about working so you can make more money so you can retire early and do all the stuff you never had time to do all through life due to your work schedule.

Life is about living fully, and that means taking the time to sit and really get to know God.

That’s why Jesus came.. it’s why we have Christmas.

“The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).” [John 10:10, Amplified Bible]

I don’t want my life to be so taken up by stuff and chasing after more that I’m no longer living. There isn’t any point to that. It’s just existing, rather than living. I want, rather, to really live. To embrace life and have it to overflowing.

Somebody told me the other day that I was so full of life.. and in thinkin’ about that comment, I decided that was quite a compliment. That person saw Jesus in my life. It means I’m really living. I’m chasing after the heart of Jesus. And that’s what I want.

