I think a lot of times, we use the call to be out in the world as an excuse of sorts.. a reason to immerse ourselves in all things worldly. It might seem as though it’s the thing to do.. like the more we become like them, the more we can reach them.

In reality, though, it is the opposite. The more we become like Him, the more we can reach others and make a true, tangible difference in their lives. We were created to be like Him.

“And put on the new nature (the regenerate self) created in God’s image, [Godlike] in true righteousness and holiness.” [Ephesians 4:24, Amplified Bible]

While we do need to be out in the world, we need to get out there in such a way that we reflect Him. When we let Him first change our own hearts, making an obvious difference in our own lives, it is evident to those around us. So then when we in turn go out into the world and befriend those who don’t know Christ.. they can see what is shining in our lives. [Matthew 5:13-16]

He’s made us new and put each of us in the place where we are right now, at this moment in life, for a purpose. He could have chosen to use somebody else to get the job done.. but He didn’t. He chose you and me. He’s placed me here to work with and know and befriend the people around me for specific reasons. Sometimes it doesn’t make sense to me, sometimes I don’t feel quite adequate to be the one befriending them. But I am choosing to love them with the love of Jesus and to pray as I have opportunities to share with them. And just by spending time with them, they are seeing evidence in my life of the One who has saved me.. and they ask too.

