“why are you striving these days?
why are you trying to earn grace?
why are you crying?
let Me life up your face
just don’t turn away 

why are you looking for love?
why are you still searching,
as if I’m not enough?
to where will you go child,
tell Me where will you run?
to where will you run?

’cause I’ll be by your side wherever you fall
in the dead of night whenever you call
please don’t fight these hands that are holding you
My hands are holding you

look at these hands, at My side
they swallowed the grave, on that night
when I drank the world’s sin
so I could carry you in
and give you life

here at My side wherever you fall
in the dead of night whenever you call
please don’t fight these hands that are holding you
My hands are holding you
and I, I love you
and I want you to know
that I, I’ll love you”

~ “by your side”.. by tenth avenue north

Aren’t you glad we can’t earn grace? I am. I think it seems almost as though it would be encouraging to be able to cause God to love us more.. but then I always find myself thinking it through. And.. I am inspired by the fact that I can’t do anything to make God love me more than He already does.

Maybe that sounds strange.. because everybody wants to be loved. Including me. We all do, we’re all human. So.. I’ll elaborate on my thoughts. 

If I did, for whatever reason, happen to have the chance to cause God to love me more, it would mean His love could change. It would mean it could fluctuate, depending on what I do or say. Not only would I have the ability to earn His love and get that love to increase, I would also have the overwhelming knowledge that I could cause Him to love me less. 

Think of the joy that would be taken out of life with the knowledge that my every breath had the potential to knock me from my position of being a beloved child of God. 

I so love that no matter how much we search the world over looking for our heart’s desires, only when we realize that He really is enough are we satisfied and fulfilled. The world looks to so much else.. seemingly everywhere but in the right direction.. running to everything and everybody they think will fill them up and block out the emptiness they feel inside. All we really need, though, is to realize and embrace the amazingness of Him desiring to be our everything. By taking hold of the realization that His hands are here to hold us through life’s every twist and turn, and by giving our hearts and our lives to Jesus, life is forever changed.

And so I return to my previous statement…

I am so glad that I cannot do anything ever in all my life to make God love me more. He loves me enough that He died for me. And there is no greater love than that.

“No one has greater love [no one has shown stronger affection] than to lay down (give up) his own life for his friends.” [John 15:13, Amplified Bible]

