“come to the waters
you who thirst and you’ll thirst no more
come to the Father
you who work and you’ll work no more

all you who labor in vain
and to the broken and shamed

Love is here
Love is now
Love is pouring from His hands, from His brow
Love is near, it satisfies
streams of mercy flowing from His side
’cause Love is here

come to the treasure
you who search and you’ll search no more
come to the Lover
you who want and you’ll want no more

all you who labor in vain
and to the broken and shamed

and to the bruised and fallen
captives bound and brokenhearted
He is the Lord, He is the Lord
by His stripes He’s paid our ransom
from His wounds we drink salvation
He is the Lord, He is the Lord..”

~ “love is here”.. by tenth avenue north

I wonder why it is so tempting to think we’re thirsting for anything other than His amazingness.

The words of this song kinda bring a picture to my mind.. a picture of a flower wilted and dying.. how we’ve worked so hard at the areas of life that really don’t matter in the least. Trying to earn love and be everything we’re not has broken us all, both individually and as a whole. It’s broken us because that sort of work can only be in vain — we’re not meant to earn grace, no matter how strong the temptation to try may be. 

A certain sweet peace comes our way when we release that which was never ours to hold onto in the first place. When we realize that love is here and now, not somewhere in the distant, unreachable future or the forgotten past, it has such a life-changing effect.

“But He was pierced for our transgressions, He was crushed for our iniquities; the punishment that brought us peace was upon Him, and by His wounds we are healed.” [Isaiah 53:5, NIV]

Love is here, love is now. And He’s all we need. No matter what it seems we’re hungering after.

I was reading the other day in Psalm 23… how many times over my life I’ve read it.. know it by heart.. and the entire chapter, really, is quoted so much it becomes cliched. But to really take a step back and really ponder what it says and what it means, laying aside all the cliched thoughts of it — it’s amazing. 

Psalm 23:1 [TNIV] says it this way: “The Lord is my Shepherd, I lack nothing.” 

All I need is for Him to be my Shepherd.. and since He is, I really lack absolutely nothing. His love isn’t some far-off promise, it is a fulfilled promise.. one that is fulfilled each day.

Love is here, right now.. in the Lord my Shepherd, and that’s all I need, it is all I need to know.

