“i’ve been holding on so tight
look at these knuckles, they’ve gone white
from fighting for who i want to be
i’m just trying to find security

You say let it go 
You say let it go 
You say life is waiting for the ones who lose control
You say You will be everything i need
You say if i lose my life it’s then i’ll find my soul
You say let it go 

well it’s hard enough to hear
harder still to move beyond the fear
we know there’s nothing i can bring
so tell me what do You want from me?

what do i love? what do i hate?
what will i lose? what will i gain?
how do i save my soul?
what if i bend? what if i break?
what will it cost? what will it take?
for You to save my soul…”

~ “let it go”.. by tenth avenue north

Crazy how it always seems like I’ve got to know what’s coming.. It gives an illusion of security.. nowever false it may be. That sense of security might stay for a time. But it won’t last like true security will.

When I let go and trust God — when I lose “control”, that is when I find joy in life. I have no need to worry about anything, and I know He has everything in His control. To let go of the control I never had in the first place lets me take a step back, and it gives God His place of authority. The place He should have anyway.

He blesses simple trust and prayers with more than I could ever ask or imagine. [Ephesians 3:20

Trying to have control ourselves just makes everything go haywire. 

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones.” [Proverbs 3:5-8, NIV]

So my dad lost his job last week. On Thursday.. the day after my birthday. 

And now he has a job. That just doesn’t happen right now. In these times. Finding a job within less than a week.. and a job where you can actually work at home. That is just a God thing.

Take a look at the priorities in your life, as this song reminds me.. where’s your life? Who has control?…

Letting go is scary, but He will be everything we need. Always.

