“she’s in so much pain
i wish i could take it all away
she deserves a break she is good
she’s lost more than any one person should

God please hold her tonight
and take away the loneliness that she is left with
she is left with no other hope but You
they say You hold the world in Your hands
please hear my prayer tonight
drop the world and hold her.. just hold her

she believes her life is over
she’s is convinced this is the end
but You can show her a better love than she has ever known
You can make her love again

God please hold her tonight
and take away the loneliness that she is left with
she is left with no other hope but You
they say You hold the world in Your hands
please hear my prayer tonight
drop the world and hold her

i wish i could turn back time
or even make it fly to any time
and now, now she hurts so much
well You could be enough Lord
You are enough to take away the loneliness that she is left with
she is left with no other hope but You
they say You hold the world in Your hands
please hear my prayer tonight
drop the world just run to her
drop the world just hold her…”

~ “drop the world” by warren barfield

These words just seemed appropriate to this situation. 

You can read part one here

So here is an update. I talked with Amy’s older sister yesterday morning, and she wrote down my contact info so all the sisters and grandparents would have it. I offered to watch the kids whenever they need me, and Nancy told me that they all want to keep everything as normal as possible for the kids.. and since I am part of their “normal”, they definitely will be calling me.

Last night I had the opportunity to talk with Amy for a few minutes. The Campus Crusade group at Edison had brought in a special speaker, and I went to go hear him.. well, I called Amy right before going inside and actually ended up walking in a few minutes late because we were talking. 

Jon was released from Miami Valley yesterday so he could go home and spend the evening with his family, and then they were going to Cincinnati today. Amy told me that the doctors think the tumor probably is cancerous. They don’t know, but from its characteristics, that is their thought. They’re seeing a neurosurgeon today and then they will hopefully get things moving asap.

It’s so scary.

I went inside and got a hug from Tyler, and then I saw Heather, one of our Campus Crusade staff people from Columbus. She asked me how he was, and.. I just burst into tears. I’m still not quite sure how I made it through my conversation with Amy. Heather and I stood out in the hall for a few minutes, and she just hugged me and listened and was there for me. I got a hug from Jordan too. After the speaker, Tom (a teacher at Edison), his wife Pam, Allison, and I prayed for Jon and his family.

In thinking about it yesterday, I realized that I’ve been watching their kids for like eight years now. Since Caleb and Josh were 4 and 2. They are all just like family to me.

And I know it’s so easy to say “trust God”. Honestly, that is just really hard to put into practice sometimes. I have absolutely no doubt that He can make him well instantly. God is big enough for that. Plenty big enough. It doesn’t make it any less scary to me though. I do trust God. So much. But sometimes I don’t know how to live that trust out in my life, and I don’t know what it looks like. I don’t believe trusting God means that you can’t be afraid though, and I don’t believe it means stuff like this doesn’t hurt. 

When you don’t know what to do or say.. sometimes I think you just need to be held. Like this song says. 

God has complete control. I know that. He has Jon and his family in His hands. It’s easy, though, when you’re hurting, to feel like He’s paying more attention to the rest of the world than to your problems. Which He isn’t. But that is what this song is about. Just dealing with that sort of feeling and pain and all the not knowing that we have in life.

Please keep praying. I thank you so much more than I can tell you. And I know this sweet family does also. I will keep you updated as I am able.

Updates:
part one
part three
part four
He is mighty to save..
whenever you call..
really living by faith..
i know God had a purpose for this..
the Lord will fight for you..
faith is being certain..
keep on believing..
God is working..
His love never ends..

