I got home from work about half an hour or so ago and immediately sat down to check for updates on my email and facebook. I was all ready for the update that would tell me all was well and he would soon be on the way to recovery and all. So this was completely not what I was expecting to read. His surgery had to be stopped?

I’ve copied and pasted the email here: 

“Jon’s surgery had to be stopped.  He had been given the anesthesia and the incision was made (but the skull was not entered).  The anesthesiologist noticed that Jon was bleeding where they had placed the screws in his skull to keep it immobile, and stopped the surgery.  It was determined that Jon’s platelet count had dropped drastically since last week and in fact he would not have been able to tolerate the surgery.  One of the drugs that Jon was taking could cause the drop in his platelets, pray that is the cause.  Basically they are in a holding pattern.  He will be kept in the hospital while they try and get his platelet count up with the possibility of surgery toward the end of next week.”

And so.. now we wait as we keep on praying and trusting and believing. One friend left a comment the other day that God so wants to heal him. And I really really believe that. I do. 

The waiting is really hard. I don’t understand it, but I know completely that God has a purpose for this abrupt halt to the surgery and for the situation as a whole. He will be praised through it all.

Praise Him in the storm and keep believing. Keep praying. 

In reading last night, I ran across these verses: “Praise the LORD. Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good; His love endures forever. Who can proclaim the mighty acts of the LORD or fully declare His praise?” [Psalm 106:1-2, NIV]

It made me think about how we can’t even come close to praising Him like He deserves or to telling everything He’s done for us.

As we live for Him, our prayer is powerful. I like how this translation says it is “dynamic in its working”. 

“And the prayer [that is] of faith will save him who is sick, and the Lord will restore him… The earnest (heartfelt, continued) prayer of a righteous man makes tremendous power available [dynamic in its working].” [James 5:14-16, Amplified Bible] 

I am trusting. Believing. Praying. And I so love the comment a friend left a day or two ago, when she encouraged me to keep being “faithful and confident” in Him. 

Pray and believe, and be faithful and confident along with us, please. Here is the story so far…
part one
part two
part three
part four
He is mighty to save..
whenever you call..
really living by faith..
the Lord will fight for you..
faith is being certain..
keep on believing..
God is working..
His love never ends..

