“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” — Hebrews 11:1, NIV

The Amplified Bible says it like this: “Now faith is the assurance (the confirmation, the title deed) of the things [we] hope for, being the proof of things [we] do not see and the conviction of their reality [faith perceiving as real fact what is not revealed to the senses].”

I really love that. Faith is a certainty of what isn’t yet revealed to the senses. 

It seems like all my life I’ve heard to believe and have faith… but that faith hasn’t been nurtured. My faith as far as salvation goes has been, and learning to live in Christ… but that’s not what I’m talking about.

I know I was talking about this the other day.. this subject has been on my mind for a long while now, though, and when I read this verse yesterday, it set me thinking even more. I remember learning Hebrews 11:1 by heart back when I was in like 4th grade. You’d think by now I should have learned what it meant… 

Guess I’m kinda repeating myself, but.. why is it that we don’t emphasize believing in that which we do not see? Almost like we are whispering that He can make the blind see and the lame walk. Like we’re whispering incase it turns out we’re wrong.

But see.. we’re not.

Jesus did so many miracles… and He’s still working like that. 

We’ve got to be certain though. We have this proof in faith of what isn’t “revealed to the senses”.

My friend told me the other day that Joyce Meyer says, “We are called believers, not achievers.” Which really says a lot, I think. We’re called believers for a reason. Because we’re supposed to believe. 

Jon’s surgery is rescheduled for tomorrow, between 11 and 1, depending on when the surgery before his is finished. They are saying it will take 4-8 hours. Keep him in your prayers please. Pray for Amy and the surgeons and the whole team, for the kids, for no cancer…

And believe. 

Because God is bringing him back home to play with his kids. 😀

Pray and believe along with us, please. The story so far…
part one
part two
part three
part four
He is mighty to save..
whenever you call..
really living by faith..
i know God had a purpose for this..
the Lord will fight for you..
keep on believing..
God is working..
His love never ends..

