“i want to run, it’s my nature to run
and i want to fight, it’s my nature to fight
and i want to live, but You tell me to die
i have resolved that i’m much better off in Your hands than mine

i’m begging You to hold on tight
begging You to hold on tight
begging You to take my life from me

i want a crumb, but You are a feast
i want a song, but You are a symphony
i want a star, but You are a galaxy
and i have resolved that i’m much better off in what You have for me

i’m begging You to hold on tight
begging You to hold on tight
begging You to take my life from me
so tell me You won’t let go
tell me You won’t let go
’cause You are the only hope for me

take my life from me, it’s the only hope for me
take my life from me, it’s the only hope for me
and i’ll never want for more
i’ll never want for more

i’m begging You to hold on tight
begging You to hold on tight
begging You to take my life from me
so tell me You won’t let go
tell me You won’t let go
’cause You are the only hope for me

You’re the only hope for me
yeah, You’re the only hope for me..”

~ “the only hope”.. by bebo norman

Isn’t it so easy to settle for so much less than He has to offer us? To be complacent in wanting a crumb when He wants to give us a feast? He is so big and wants to give us so much.. Kind of like when Aladdin sings, “I can show you the world..”

Yet here we are, way too content with where we are, wanting to fight Him and run away and do it our own way. We want to stay in the little box we’ve built up around our little nest of comfort, rather than letting Him break it away and give us that “whole new world”.

Or.. at least that’s what I see in myself sometimes.. in my own life.

And I think it isn’t even that I don’t want more than that crumb, that song, that star.. but maybe almost more of being afraid to ask for more.. or even a fear of having more. Maybe it is just that I’m safe in my little box, and even if I’m sitting there begging inside for more, I’d rather have that safety than come out to ask. If that makes any sense.

To go about life my own way, in my box.. I suppose is one of those excuses to settle for less. Or is it that settling for less is an excuse for living in my box? Either way, I have to realize at some point that I’m so much better off seeking after the bigger dreams that the One who holds me tight has concocted just for me. His way.. His hands.. that is the way to go.

To live life on a quest for that feast, that symphony, that galaxy that He is.. that’s what I want. To never settle for something smaller that looks “good enough” and might be a temporary substitute for the realness and hugeness of Who He is.

*Please, please, please keep on praying, believing, and praising always for Jon and his family. Be praying for his upcoming MRI, that the doctors will find the tumor completely gone, never to return. God is so big enough. Also be praying for this sharing opportunity this next week or two, where they have the chance to share with others how big God really is, thank them for praying, and to ask for continued prayer. If you haven’t already, please catch up on their story!

