As I was reading in Proverbs one night, I ran across 4:23… it wasn’t a new verse for me.. I know it well. But something about that verse struck me as I read it at this particular moment.

Guarding your heart can be something to struggle over… at least for me. That night, I simply asked God to show me how to guard my heart… just an honest request. Well, then my Bible just fell open to Philippians 4 (which I also know very well). The first words on the page that my eyes fell on were those of verse 19: “And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (NIV). Then I started at the beginning and just read the entire chapter.

As I said, it’s not as if I don’t know these verses well… I’ve read them countless times and learned many of them by heart. But I read it all in a new way this time around.

As I read Philippians 4, I was confronted by the statement, “and the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts…” (from Philippians 4:7, NIV).

How much of a direct and immediate answer I was expecting, I don’t know. I don’t think it was for my question to be answered in this verse though. Maybe I just wanted Him to make guarding my heart an easier task rather than actually answering my question…? Whatever I was expecting or looking for, I think He answered in a major way.

Maybe it isn’t so much about me guarding my heart as it is about allowing Him to. As I pray and thank Him in a constant way of life, His peace that I can’t even begin to understand will guard my heart. In a very huge way.

So maybe guarding my heart is all about my way of life, and more about prayer than I ever really considered. I think I always just thought of it as more of a “make sure my ways are pleasing to God rather than flirty” thing, instead of seeing the guarding of my heart as a result that comes about through a close relationship and communication with Him.

*Please keep Jon and his family in your prayers as you believe and praise for him and for them all! He is doing really well. 😀 Catch up on their story if you haven’t already!

