Wouldn’t it be awfully nice if, once God answered a prayer, that was the end of it? After all, there would still be other things to pray about all the time. New things, maybe even less-stressful things. Just a sort of change of scenery in our prayers. Some kind of relief from whatever troubles we’ve had.

Doesn’t work that way though.

Sometimes our prayers take on a little different shape, as the details of what we’re on our knees for change.. but that’s about it.

Amy says they think Jon is having small seizures, and he is having an EEG tomorrow to check this out. The MRI the other day was good, so.. what is this?

My dad needs a new job. He lost his job in January.. the day after my birthday.. and it was such a God thing that he had a new job within 6 days of getting laid off. It was a much better job, one where the people treated him well, he worked from home, and made more than at his previous job that he’d hated because of the way he was treated there. But now they’ve not had any work for him since like the beginning of October, when they’d planned and said they would have stuff for him to do at least through March.

I love the words Amy used… “God is keeping us on our knees.” These words are so true.

I just wish He would keep us on our knees in praise, though, rather than asking and praising at the same time. If that makes sense. Not that I’m asking for life to be perfect, because that isn’t the way it works. We grow through hard times, and He grows us up stronger than before as we seek Him and stay on our knees. But I find it really wearying to be always having some kind of request to make as I pray.

And I do praise Him as I pray also. He has done so much in my life and in the lives of those I am close to, and if I had to choose one year above all others where He has so proven His sovereignty and control and genuine love and care… this past year would be, hands down, the one I would have to say. Between His provision, His protection, and His taking care of just some other situations that have frustrated my life now and then, 2009 has been quite the year of prayer, belief, and praise to God. It’s been a year full of much learning and growing. Maybe even much more than I would have ever thought possible.

And yet now.. here I am wishing for Him to keep us on our knees in constant praise alone.

He wants us to come to Him… He says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matthew 11:28-30, NIV).

As wearying as it all is, I know that “… those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint” (Isaiah 40:31, NIV).

He gives strength and smiles, He heals, He provides. I have seen Him do all of this first hand. Over and over. Even over and over in this past year. I know He will continue to do so.

And so I ask you to pray with us. Pray, believe as you pray, and praise. For Jon and his EEG and whatever is going on with this. For my daddy and his job situation. I know He is here, He is watching, He has us all in His hands and will not let go.

God is so big enough.

As you pray, believe, and praise for Jon and his family, catch up on their story if you haven’t already!

