Everybody loves Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice, right? In a discussion with one of my friends from a class at Edison, the topic of books came up one day. Since this was a project class with only the two of us there most of the time, we loved to sit and talk while we worked. It came to my friend’s attention that I’d not read Pride & Prejudice (I’d not intentionally not read it, it was one of those that just hadn’t happened yet), so she actually brought me a copy of my very own one day. She had acquired a box of books that left her with an extra copy of both Pride & Prejudice and Emma, and so she wanted to pass them along to me to enjoy. Oh Cheryl.. thank you so much. 🙂

And so I was introduced into the world of Austen. I’ve not left it. As I read Pride & Prejudice, I found myself so loving Lizzy and Darcy.

Some friends and my sister and I started a book club just over a year ago.. a book club for the purpose of reading and discussing Jane Austen and the brilliance of her works. We first read Sense & Sensibility, then Pride & Prejudice. Just this past Thursday night, I finished Northanger Abbey. I had just assumed everybody knew at least the title of this one, but over the past weeks I’ve realized that isn’t true. It’s been my constant recommendation to others almost since beginning it.

Catherine’s overactive imagination and overactive trust in others caused me to spend some time trying to talk her out of believing certain ideas, but at the same time, her characteristics made me like her instantly.

And.. Mr. Tilney. Now, I love Mr. Darcy. I’ve already made a point of saying so. There is this place in my heart that feels so broken for him every time I read or hear/watch Lizzy declare her hatred of him.

But now, having read Northanger Abbey, I have had some trouble determining just which one I love more. I honestly think Mr. Tilney wins. Much as I love Darcy, I really think I love Henry Tilney more. It seems to me that his personality comes out more in the book than we ever see of Mr. Darcy’s. And his imagination is a huge plus. He’s quite the story-teller.. not to mention his boldness in crossing his father when he is told to forget Catherine.

Is my comparison of Darcy and Tilney the result of MY overactive imagination?

Perhaps it is..

But..

Imagination adds sparkle to the world. And I like that.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Thank you so much for every single one of your prayers. Please, please keep on praying, believing, praising for Jon and his family. His next MRI is coming up in March. If you’ve not done so already, please catch up on Jon and Amy’s story!

