“In the morning, O LORD, You hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before You and wait in expectation.” – Psalm 5:3, NIV

I’m sure I’ve written about this verse before. At least some time in this past year. I can’t tell you how many times I have prayed through those words. And lest it sound like I was laying my requests before Him and waiting expectantly in vain.. let me add this:

I also cannot even tell you how much that praying and waiting in expectation has grown me. Both in life in general and in my faith in Him.

He has used these adverse circumstances that I would never wish on anybody to turn upside down the picture I had of faith. And that is not to say I’d never thought about or really considered faith and its implications previous to this year. I’ve grown up immersed in faith and God and the Bible and church.. but I think there is a point where, much as you may have learned growing up and much as you may have believed it up until then.. you have to just leap.

Take a huge step of faith.

Like that part in my favorite Indiana Jones movie where he has to get to the other side of the huge chasm but can’t see that there is a bridge until he actually steps forward.

And you have nothing to go on but trust in the One who holds the world in His hands and makes the sun rise on His time.

Hebrews 11:1 [NIV] says, “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

As I recently reread this verse for probably the millionth time in my life, a realization hit me.. I hadn’t ever put together just how much this verse ties in with the following passage:

“‘Have faith in God,’ Jesus answered. ‘I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, “Go, throw yourself into the sea,” and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. And when you stand praying, if you hold anything against anyone, forgive him, so that your Father in heaven may forgive you your sins'” [Mark 11:22-26, NIV].

See.. faith knows how big God is and what He does when we believe and pray. Faith knows that He can use us to move that mountain if we just choose to believe Him.

Thank you so, so, so much as you keep on praying, believing, and praising for Jon and his family. Be praying, please, for March 10th, which is his next MRI. Be praying that his back pain is just from shoveling snow. Ordinary everyday issues become so scary when you have been dealing with the unordinary-ness and scariness of brain tumors. If you’ve not done so already, please catch up on Jon and Amy’s story!

