“do you wonder why you have to
feel the things that hurt you
if there’s a God who loves you, where is He now
maybe there are things you can’t see
and all those things are happening
to bring a better ending
someday somehow you’ll see, you’ll see

would you dare, would you dare to believe
that you still have a reason to sing
’cause the pain that you’ve been feeling
it can’t compare to the joy that’s coming
so hold on you gotta wait for the light
press on and just fight the good fight
’cause the pain that you’ve been feeling
it’s just the dark before the morning

my friend, you know how this all ends
you know where you’re going
you just don’t know how you’ll get there
so say a prayer
and hold on cause there’s good for those who love God
but life is not a snapshot
it might take a little time but you’ll see the bigger picture
once you feel the weight of glory
all your pain will fade to memory
it’s just the hurt before the healing
oh the pain that you’ve been feeling
it’s just the dark before the morning…”

— “before the morning”.. by josh wilson

Sometimes things happen that make you wish you could hit the rewind button and choose a different ending. Or maybe hit “undo”… or just photoshop those unwelcome and unwanted situations right out of your life. At least I find myself wishing sometimes that I could do that. Maybe that is just the photoshop girl in me… but I think, in their own way, everybody wants at some time or another to be able to erase something.

I feel like these words are so exactly like what has passed over the past few weeks. Just when I was thinking how much better this year has been than the last… life fell apart. It crumbled in such a way that it felt as though nothing could ever be right again. It will heal. In God’s own way, and in His own time. But there is some aspect of that hurt that will always be there, affecting so many people forever.

Knowing that God can, will, and even now is using events that nobody ever wants to happen, I’m learning the extent that life has been changed. I am learning that the pain is the dark before the morning, and it can’t compare to the joy that God has coming.

So much healing depends upon our choosing to let God make something good out of something so opposite. But He has something amazing planned. And it is not my job to know what it is. It’s just my job to trust Him and live life to the fullest. Jesus came and changed life for us (John 10:10).

I choose to dare to believe in that reason to sing. Even in the midst of pain. Do you?

There is a bigger picture that I can’t see right now.. but I know it’s there.

Please keep on praying for Jon and his family.. and catch up with his story if you haven’t already.

