Genesis and me


Sunset from the plane window

hibiscus in Nica

pretty yellow flowers in Nica..

at our worksite

Genesis at her home

Genesis and me

Ana and me

Nayrobis ❤

Nayrobis and me at Tip Top

Nayrobis at our sponsor lunch

with Cinthya and family

tickle fight with a girl at our worksite

me at the volcano

on our boat ride in Granada

“i was walking down the street
in my blue jeans and my bare feet
i saw old mrs. mayo in her garden so high
she got her prize azaleas
and her big ol’ fat tomatoes
she invited me in to have a piece of her pie
and later on i thought i’d head on down
by the caley river to the old rope swing
there was a bunch of kids laughin’ and jumpin’ in
i sat down on the grass and i just watched them play
and all my worries seemed to wash away

oh it’s a magical thing
when the sun is shining down on me
and this is such a beautiful place
don’t wanna miss a minute of today
it’s so magical

tonight i’ll go home and write myself a letter
tell myself to live a little freer and love a little better
gonna soak it in like there’s no tomorrow
and drink up every second like a big ol’ glass of water

oh i feel like i could fly
when i see the world through these eyes…”

~ “so magical”.. by martina mcbride

I really haven’t known where to start lately… July 31st-August 8th I was in Nicaragua… and there really are no words to describe that. It was amazing, and for anyone who’s ever been there, that perfectly captures the experience. For anyone who’s not.. that description is somewhat lacking. And so I’ve tried to give you a small summary through photos. To just help you picture how magical and amazing it really is.

The song I’ve quoted here is so very USA. And yet the feel, I believe, also takes hold of something I’ve seen in Nicaragua.

The people of Nicaragua are so very friendly. They’ll invite you in and give you the only chairs they have to sit on. They’ll talk your ears off, even if you don’t understand what they’re saying. And they will love you with all they have to give.

It’s a place where time is nonexistent and where whatever worries you’ve been dealing with at home seem so far off.

Somehow it encourages living and loving freely. Maybe because that’s because that’s the Nica way. They have less than what most people here would call nothing, yet they won’t let their worry show. They will greet you with a sweet smile and share whatever they have with you. However little that may be.

And that.. seeing life through sparkling eyes like those of the kids you saw above.. I think that’s what Martina’s talking about here. Drink up today, as Anne Shirley would say. Love generously. Praise loudly. Live fully.

Nicas teach me without ever meaning to. They teach me by example what contentment is.. to be happy with where God has placed you and what you’ve been given in the here and now. They teach me how to love unconditionally. They teach me how to praise Jesus in ways different from what I’m used to. They teach me how to live with a smile and with an abandon that isn’t so common among the people of the USA.

Maybe some of this makes sense…?

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Please keep on praying for Jon and his family.. and catch up with his story if you haven’t already! :)

