“oh God of Heaven, come and hem me in
gather the pieces that are broken
show me the wonder of You again
oh God of Heaven

God of my hope, God of my need
God of my pain that no one else will ever see
God of my healing, God of my strength
God who has always and will forever reign
God of my everything

in all creation You call my name
in all the beauty that this world displays
still i’m the one for whom Your heart aches
in all creation

and when the mountains shake
You are my God
You never change
and when the earth gives way
You are still God
You never change..”

~ “God of my everything”.. by bebo norman

I love the truth in the words of this song. They are so simple, yet so authentic.

God will gather and heal the pieces that are broken if we’ll only let Him. He wants to be our everything. And He wants us to be confident as we pray to Him and tell Him our needs and what we’re going through.

Hebrews 4:16 says, “Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

Sometimes it’s easier to concentrate on our need than to trust that He provides, that He’s here, that He never changes.

When we have this “desperate clinging to Christ” (in Bebo’s words), He affects every part of our lives. Huge and minute, important and trivial.

We can be confident in approaching God because He wants us to pray to Him. Even though He already knows, He wants us to tell Him what’s going on.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7)

We should not feel inadequate or too small or insignificant. We are His. He’s made us to belong to Him, and that should make us feel so loved. Because we are.

Psalm 100:3, reminding us that He is God and that we are His, says, “Know that the LORD is God. It is He who made us, and we are His; we are His people, the sheep of His pasture.”

I love the desperate clinging to Him that this song shows. When nothing is certain, when even the mountains are shaking, He is still God. Whether we’re in a position where we have everything we could ever imagine and more, or in a place where even the earth seems to have given way, He is still God.

He never changes, and He will always take care of us.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for all your prayers for Jon and his family. Please keep it up, and if you’re not familiar or caught up with his story, I’ve tried to keep it up to date.

