At church today, one of the topics discussed was about what’s in our hearts determining our responses to life events. It’s something I’ve pondered quite a lot, actually, but one of those things that I kinda have never known exactly the words to describe what I wanted to say.

An illustration was shared that made the point perfectly. If you shake a bottle of water (with the lid off), water comes out… Why? Yes, because it’s been shaken. But why does water come out? Water comes out because that’s what was inside the bottle.

Luke 6:43-45 says, “No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit. Each tree is recognized by its own fruit. People do not pick figs from thornbushes, or grapes from briers. A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”

My responses to life come from what’s in my heart. I can try to cover it up and just fix my response, just fix my fruit, but that never lasts for long.

To really remedy the issue, I have to make sure my heart is right with God. My heart has to be exactly in tune with Him, and that will make beautiful fruit spill from me in response to life.

Paul talks about fruits from different lifestyles in Galatians 5. Hatred, jealousy, and selfishness are just a few of the oh-so-common fruits of a heart that is not where it needs to be with God. Likewise, love, kindness, and self-control are fruits that blossom when the heart is close with Him. Whichever kind of attitude is in my heart, that is the fruit that will overflow from it.

As I listened today, I was reminded of something one of the missionaries we worked with in Australia said back in 2003… I wrote it in my notes, and to this day I still remember it. He said something to the effect of, “Live so that when you’re squeezed, the fruit of the Holy Spirit spills out.”

That’s what I want my life to look like. Whenever I’m squeezed… whenever I go through hard times, whatever they are… I want His fruit to spill out from me. It’s a proof to those around me of who I am. It gives credibility to who I claim to be, and of Whose I claim to be.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for each prayer you pray for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing as his next scans are coming up in May. If you’re not familiar or caught up with his story, I’ve tried to keep it up to date to help you out.

 

