“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others;
for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness;
and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”
~ Audrey Hepburn

Funny how the way we look at, act toward, and speak to others has the ability to make us beautiful or ugly, isn’t it?

Sometimes I’m not quite so beautiful as I’d like to be… because sometimes I don’t look for the good in people. Sometimes I look for the bad. Sometimes I don’t speak words of kindness, but rather words that spring out of hurt or annoyance or anger. And sometimes I don’t have the poise that so displays beauty because sometimes, much as I hate to say it, I forget that I’m not alone.

I don’t like that I do those things, but I know that to ignore them would be a lie.

So.. I need to work on changing them by making sure that my heart is as it should be.

Last night I had the opportunity to have a very long, very deep, very intense conversation with a young friend that I met back in 2006. It was a very good conversation. Very hard, but so very good. She was so in need of someone to see the good in her. She needed kind words and a listening heart to care about her. She needed to know she wasn’t alone. And God let me be there for her.

Some of the words I said to her… I honestly don’t know where they came from except to say that it was the Holy Spirit talking and not me. Because some of it.. well, she had some questions that took me by surprise, and I just didn’t know how to answer her. And then suddenly I found myself telling her stuff that I could never have thought up on my own.

I think it really helped her to know that I was there, that she had a friend who didn’t think any less of her for the things she was telling me. She need to know that I loved her anyway.

These words by Audrey Hepburn actually relate to what I told my friend last night… the way we live our lives has the potential to make us so incredibly beautiful. It also has the potential to make us uglier than we could ever imagine. It’s really our choice.

I want my eyes to be beautiful… but more than that, I want to see the good in others. I so want to have a Christlike attitude toward them and find the beauty in the self-proclaimed ugly and even the seemingly unlovely. We all need so desperately to know that we’re loved.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for your every prayer for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing as his next scans are coming up soon in May. If you’re not familiar with this family, please take a few minutes to catch up on his story.

