I’ve been discovering something over the past month and a half or so…

I have been discovering that the “whys” don’t matter.

As a human, I try to argue their way into significance, thinking that the reasons for whatever I’m going through at the moment will make it better. Like it will change whatever the circumstances are.

In reality, though, there are so many instances where I will never know the “why” behind the circumstances. And it really just doesn’t even matter.

Knowing the reasons why should not change my actions. It shouldn’t mean the difference between my obedience or choosing my own way.

Thus, the whys don’t even matter. Really.

What does matter is my choice to obey. My choice to take what God says and what I know in my heart I need to be doing and live that out in my life.

It’s that simple. I try to make it so complicated, but really it isn’t. The whys don’t matter. Just that I choose to trust and follow as God leads me one step at a time.

Letting go enough to realize that the reasons why are futile is hard. It’s crucial though. It’s so essential to really living, because the realization of the truth of that statement means the realization that no matter what the whys are, they don’t change anything. They don’t make the circumstances go away or easier to deal with. Neither do they make them worse. So.. why worry about them?

It’s taken me a long time to learn this, but it is being continually reinforced as I go through life, and that’s helping with my learning.

And you know what? I’m glad the whys don’t matter. 🙂

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for your every prayer for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing as his next scans are coming up very soon in May. Praise for all the healing that has been taking place and pray that it will continue. If you’re not familiar with this family, please take a few minutes to catch up on his story.

