“love woke me up this morning with a memory
love came and whispered a story that awakened a dream
imagine a beautiful castle with a beautiful king
he left the comfort of his throne to fight for victory

i am a dreamer
take me higher
open the sky up
start a fire
i believe even if it’s just a dream

love woke me up this morning and i ran to see
the king in the winners’ circle on the horse he won for me
only a king would do anything
to protect the kingdom…”

~ “dreamer”… by bethany dillon

God doesn’t want us to live in a box, all closed in and afraid of what’s out there. He came so we could have amazing life, amazing freedom. He wants us to dream. He wants us to honestly be delighted in Him. He wants to work in our lives in ways that only He knows… ways beyond our limited imaginations.

Because, much as I like to think I have a big imagination, when it comes to God, I can’t imagine big enough. There is nothing He can’t do, yet it’s so easy to limit Him with our imaginings.

I wonder why that is though. As Francis Shaeffer put it, “The Christian is the one whose imagination should fly beyond the stars.” Why? Because the One we worship is so able to do immeasurably more than we could ever dream up (Ephesians 3:20).

To have the courage to dream, to follow after God’s dreams for us, is so great. It does take courage.. It takes courage to climb out of the comfortable little box where we’ve been hiding for so long.. and it takes courage to venture out away from that box. It’s a seemingly safe place, with all things familiar to us, and deviating from what we know and are comfortable with isn’t an easy thing to do.

It’s something I’m choosing to do though. I am choosing to dream of God’s plans.. of how He wants to use me in the context of life with those around me.. of how my King would do anything to protect His kingdom.. of how He has a Prince Charming waiting just for me.. of my home forever beyond the here and now. And I’m choosing to enjoy this dreaming.

No, life is not a fairy tale… but at the same time, we don’t have to walk around all serious all the time. Life was meant to be enjoyed. I love the way L. M. Montgomery said it: “Nobody is ever too old to dream. And dreams never grow old.”

And so I choose to dream of the good things to come, as I let God guard my heart with His peace, and as I follow after Him. And I know that “… no good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly” (Psalm 84:11b, Amplified Bible).

My Mema was a dreamer. Maybe that’s where I got it. I miss her.. can’t believe it’s been ten years. I was 17 when she died.. and her dreams and the way she embraced life and lived it out fully will stay with me, forever imprinted in my heart and life.

Mema and me, in the late 1980s

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for your every prayer for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing as his next scans are coming up in a few weeks. Praise for all the healing that has been taking place and pray that it will continue, with no returning tumors. If you’re not familiar with this family, please take a few minutes to catch up on his story.