“And you find you’re never alive until you give your life away.” – Whitney Z.’s facebook status

I saw this quote today and had to post it.

It’s so true.. When I make my life all about myself, there is no fulfillment, no joy, no.. life.

The opposite is also true. When I begin to let go of my own thoughts, understandings, desires — when I give my life away so completely to Jesus and let Him be King over me as He’s meant to be — that’s when I find I am truly alive.

Jesus Himself said the same thing in Mark 8:34-36, among other places: “Then he called the crowd to him along with his disciples and said: ‘If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?'”

The truth of His statement can be seen all around us. Just look at America and all the world today… The earth is so full of people who are completely caught up in and focused on themselves to the point that they couldn’t care less about the way their actions and words affect others. It’s full of people who would rather be self-centered than give up their own dreams in order to realize the amazingness of the dreams that our Creator has for us.

This isn’t meant to bash people who look at life in this way, but rather to be a reminder… We’ve got to all be looking at our lives, making sure where our focus is.  I know that I need to be reminded often, and Whitney’s post served as one such reminder.

I find that the times I am truly alive are when I have given my life away fully to following my Jesus. When I choose to obey no matter what the cost might be. When I choose not to worry. When I choose to love when I’d rather ignore. When I choose to walk by faith and not by sight. When I choose to put God and others above myself. When I remember that He has such dreams for me and for my life that I could never begin to even come close to imagining their extent.

That’s when I’m alive. Only then.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for your every prayer for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing as his next scans are coming up the day after tomorrow. Praise for all the healing that has been taking place and pray that it will continue, with no returning tumors. If you’re not familiar with this family, please take a few minutes to catch up on his story.

