“walk into the sunlight, so bright
illumination blocking out the night
she knows that the promises are airtight
there is no doubt, you can see it in her eyes
you’ll hear her singing from heaven even
without letting out a word to be heard
in every single situation, none too big, none too small
she looks up and the world looks on

she sings hallelujah
when all has become nothing
and her hope in the Savior has colored all she does
and taints the way she loves
she sings hallelujah and falls to the ground again
with hands stretched up to the sky
she’s waiting for the day she’ll hear the Father say

step into the spotlight, so bright
a character check in the dead of night
to cut the stays of reason, till death defy
all understanding in the neighbor’s eye
to run this race like this day’s the last
celebrate in all we do and all we say
look up, ’cause the world looks on

she sings hallelujah
when all has become nothing
and her hope in the Savior has colored all she does
and taints the way she loves
she sings hallelujah and falls to the ground again
with hands stretched up to the sky
she’s waiting for the day she’ll hear the Father say

we sing hallelujah
when all has become nothing
and our hope in the Savior has covered all we do
let it be for You
we’ll sing hallelujah, and fall to the ground again
with hands stretched up to the sky
we’re waiting for the day we’ll hear the Father say
yeah, we’re gonna hear Him say
well done, good and faithful one
enter in, come on, share with me
welcome home, good and faithful one
on and on to eternity”

~ “hallelujah”.. newsboys

Listening to this song today as I was driving, I began to think about how much it relates to the topic that’s actually been on my mind since before my last post. This song really describes what Bethany Hamilton said about the fact that, if she could go back and relive that day that changed her life, she wouldn’t change anything that had happened to her.. because she had learned that she was able to reach out and love more people.. she was able to have such a larger impact on the world.. with one arm than she ever had with two.

It started me pondering how much I wish I could say that I wouldn’t change anything either. It made me think about how I wish I didn’t sound like I’m complaining to say there are things that have happened in my life that I would change if I could. Some of those events and circumstances.. well, frankly, just plain old hurt. A lot.

And though it may sound like it, I’m not complaining. I know without a doubt that God is using each of these circumstances – big and small – in my life. He has grown me through them.. so much.. and even still is growing me into somebody I could never have been without walking through these situations with Him.

Still.. I want to be at the place where the words of this song can honestly describe me the way they do Bethany. I want it to be said of me that my hope in my Savior colors all I do. I want that hope to taint the way I love. I want that hope to make me sing hallelujah even when I don’t feel like it. Not just sometimes, but all the time.

James 1:2-12 says, “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. Those who doubt should not think they will receive anything from the Lord; they are double-minded and unstable in all they do. Believers in humble circumstances ought to take pride in their high position. But the rich should take pride in their humiliation—since they will pass away like a wild flower. For the sun rises with scorching heat and withers the plant; its blossom falls and its beauty is destroyed. In the same way, the rich will fade away even while they go about their business. Blessed are those who persevere under trial, because when they have stood the test, they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.”

I want that perseverance.. and I know that this kind of perseverance only can come from my very faith and life being tested beyond what I ever imagined. I want the maturity and completeness that come with perseverance. I want God’s wisdom that only He can give.

I’m told to consider it pure joy when I face trials… because I know God uses them in my life. I don’t think that. I know that. Without a doubt. I have seen Him grow my faith and my love in the hugest ways. Because.. really, having been through the circumstances of the last two years, He has given me opportunities to love and relate to more people and in more ways than I ever could have otherwise.

God knows what He’s doing. He sees the whole picture. And He wants us to take on a new perspective when we don’t understand.. and to simply trust Him in all things.

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

Thank you so much for your every prayer for Jon and his family. Please keep on praising, praying, and believing for his next scans to be great. Praise for all the healing that has been taking place and pray that it will continue, with no returning tumors. If you’re not familiar with this family, please take a few minutes to catch up on his story. Also, please continue praying for a job for my daddy. We heard back from the man we were waiting for a call from… and he said that my dad didn’t get that job, but that he will be making a new position in a month or two. He wants to keep his resume and call him about that job. Please be praying for that to actually happen.

