“why in the world did i think i could
only get to know you when my life was good?
when everything just falls in place
the easiest thing is to give you praise
now it all seems upside down

’cause my whole world is caving in
but i feel you now more than i did then
how can i come to the end of me
but somehow still have all i need?
God, i want to know you more
maybe this is how it starts
i find you when i fall apart

blessed are the ones who understand
they’ve got nothing to bring but empty hands
nothing to hide and nothing to prove
our heartbreak brings us back to you
and it all seems upside down

’cause my whole world is caving in
but I feel you now more than i did then
how can i come to the end of me
but somehow still have all i need?
God, i want to know you more
maybe this is how it starts
i find you when i fall apart

i don’t know how long this will last
i’m praying for the pain to pass
but maybe this is the best thing that has ever happened to me

’cause my whole world is caving in
but i feel you now more than i did then
how can i come to the end of me
but somehow still have all i need?
God, i want to know you more
maybe this is how it starts
i find you when–
You will find me when–
i fall apart…”

~ “fall apart”.. by josh wilson

When I finally come to the place where I let go of everything I think I know..

When I come to the end of me..

When I bring all I have to Him, even when all that entails is my empty hands..

When I lay everything bare, with nothing to hide..

When I realize that I have nothing to prove..

When my heart is broken into a million tiny pieces..

When the world caves in..

This.. is when I get to really know God.

It’s easy to praise Him in the sunshine, but when all is dark.. it’s not always so.

Coming to the end of myself and falling apart is where I remember that He is all I need. It’s when I am broken before my Maker that there is room for Him to come and gently put me back together again.. in the perfect way that only He can.

I ran across this quote recently, and the truth of it so stood out to me:

“When you face circumstances that seem insurmountable, you will be tempted to doubt. At those times, remember our audacious faith is not built on the fault line of feelings or the flood plain of our performance. We build on the faithfulness of God.” ~ S. Furtick

When nothing makes sense and everything seems to be impossible, the world would tell me to doubt. But I’ve seen the faithfulness of my God, and I have seen what a life built on that faithfulness can do. I want my faith to be so very audacious as to believe and build my entire existence on the One who will never let me go. I want my faith to be so daring and reckless as to go for it when all logic says it could never happen.

And this can only happen when I fall apart.

 

