“if You are the sun
then i wanna be the moon
i want to reflect the light
that shines from You
and if this is war
then i’m gonna draw my sword
this time i know what i’m fighting for

God i wanna let You know
i love everything You are
i’m waiting for the morning light
to show a fire in the dark

shine Your light
i want to feel You now
God i need a miracle
take my heart, make it glow
shine Your light
from the inside out
i wanna be more like You
if You are the sun
then i wanna be the moon
i wanna be the moon

if love is a choice
then i need You to hear my voice
i’m the one knocking on Your door
making all this noise
whatever it takes
i’d give it all away
i want to show my love in a thousand ways

God i want to let You know
i love everything You are
i’m waiting for the morning light
to show a fire in the dark

shine Your light
i want to feel You now
God i need a miracle
take my heart, make it glow
shine Your light
from the inside out
i wanna be more like You
if You are the sun
then i wanna be the moon

and i can’t live a single day without You
and i don’t even want to try
and i won’t take another step without Your light
i need Your light

shine
i want to feel You now
God i need a miracle
so take my heart, make it glow
shine Your light
from the inside out
i wanna be more like You
if You are the sun
then i wanna be the moon
i wanna be more like You
i wanna be more like You
i wanna be the moon

if You are the sun
then i wanna be the moon
i want to reflect the light
that shines from You…”

~ “sun & moon”… by phil wickham

This song… frankly, my words fail to capture how this song has taken over my thinking.

I have found a raw honesty in these words that I want to be descriptive of my own life.

I think it’s easy to cliché words into meaning almost nothing. This happens so often with words and phrases that have become “Christianese”… like “reflecting the light of Christ”. I so want to stay away from that and dig into what it actually means. Because it’s way too easy to say those words out of habit and not even consider their implication.

As a follower of Christ, I have been called to reflect His light… but it goes so much deeper than that.

The very nature of the moon is to reflect the light of the sun. The moon itself is nothing otherwise. It’s not very pretty. Not by itself, not on its own. And God made it that way purposely. Likewise, He made the sun to shine. To show up in the morning, bringing a fire of light into the darkness.

He created me to be nothing on my own too. Just like the moon. He knew it was that way, it was not a mistake. He made me purposely so that I couldn’t stand on my own. Without Him, I couldn’t breathe. I would not even be here. It’s such a miracle that the Creator of all things would shine His light in my heart, from the inside out, making it glow. It’s a miracle because the truth is that I’m pretty ugly on my own.

He knew that I would need Him in order to live and breathe. And it’s not a problem for Him. He’s God. He loves to be my everything.

The problem happens when I forget.

When I forget the extent of who He is.. when I forget to acknowledge that and let it affect the way I live.

Because, see, when I forget… I get this unconscious need to set out on my own. Just think if the moon tried to stray from its orbit. Think of what a mess that would become. The moon needs the sun. It revolves around the earth, yes, but ultimately it revolves around the sun.

I can’t live a single day without Him. And I don’t want to even try. I choose not to take another step without His light shining on my path. I choose to make each day about Him and to let Him work in my life each day. I choose to take action and change what needs to be changed. Because once we truly encounter Jesus, we can never ever ever be the same.

So.. if He is the sun, then I want to be the moon.

